Wayland Celebrates its Employees

PLAINVIEW – Wayland Baptist University faculty and staff gathered Friday afternoon for the university’s annual awards luncheon where employees are recognized for years of service and outstanding service to the university and their professions.

Two special recognitions were held for employees whose commitment to the university is rarely equaled. Dr. Candace Keller was recognized for 45 years of service to the school. Dr. Keller is a professor of art who has served as Dean of the School of Fine Arts and who is currently the director of the Malouf Abraham Family Art Center.

Wayland President Dr. Bobby Hall was recognized for 40 years of service. Dr. Hall is the 13th president of the university and the first alumni to serve as president. In his 40 years, Dr. Hall has worked in a number of capacities, including coordinator of photography, sports information director, director of career planning and placement, director of public relations, assistant to the president for institutional advancement, executive director of university relations, director of graduate services, director of institutional research and effectiveness, assistant executive vice president, vice president for academic services and graduate studies, and the executive vice president and provost.

Randy Kaufman, a local certified public accountant and member of the Wayland Board of Trustees, was on hand to recognize Hall. He said the Board was very honored to have Dr. Hall as president of Wayland and equally as grateful to all the employees recognized for their years of service.

“We are extremely proud of what you do,” Kaufman said. “You guys are the ones teaching and training these students, preparing them for their life. Not only through education, but also through spiritual help and spiritual discipline and things like that. We are really grateful to all of you whether you are here or at an external campus. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for all that you do for Wayland.”

Special recognition was made for Dr. Richard Fountain, who was named Wayland’s nominee for the Minnie Stevens Piper Professor Award. The national award is presented by the Piper Foundation to recognize professors for their work in the classroom. Research and other criteria are taken into consideration, but the award, organized in 1950, focuses on classroom instruction.

Teresa Young, alumni director, then recognized the winners of the Alumni Distinguished Faculty Service Award, Alumni Distinguished Staff Service Award and Alumni Distinguished External Campus Service Award, given to employees who have been with Wayland for at least 10 years and have shown outstanding service. The faculty award was given to Dr. Justin Lawrence, the head of Wayland’s criminal justice administration program. Donnie Brown, director of spiritual life, received the staff award and Linda Hoffman, at Wayland’s Anchorage, Alaska, campus, received the External Campus Service Award.

Staff awards were then handed out with Dr. Trish Trifilo, director of WBU online, receiving the University Service Award. Jonathan Petty, director of communications was named the Community Service Award winner. Christina Longoria, digital media manager, received the award for Campus/Student Involvement and Jana Muniz, the university’s payroll coordinator, received the Staff Excellence Award.

Dr. Karen Beth Strovas, the assistant dean in the School of Languages and Literature, received the Faculty University Service Award. The Community Service Award recipient was Dr. Keri James, professor of education at Wayland’s San Antonio Campus. Dr. Kimberlee Mendoza, dean of the School of Languages and Literature, was recognized with the Faculty Scholarship Award, and Dr. Judy Jarratt, interim dean of the Lubbock Campus, received the Contribution to the Profession Award.

The administration also handed out service-award certificates and pins to employees. Those recipients were:

Five Years of Service: Nicole Adams, Plainview; Caitlin Baker, Plainview; Rebekah Brown, Plainview; Judy Cooper, Lubbock; Desmond Dean, Hawaii; Coralyn Dillard, Plainview; Dr. Jenny Dutton, Plainview; Dr. Ingrid Graves, Lubbock; Marcos Hinojos Jr., Plainview; Kassie Lane, Plainview; Trevor Morris, Plainview; Shelly Smith, Plainview; Christie Soder, Plainview; Gary Vaughn, Plainview; Dr. Margaret Viertel, Anchorage.

10 Years: Mike Allen, Plainview; Roque Cantu, San Antonio; Dr. Jimmie Flores, Plainview; Bibiane Goldberg, San Antonio; Dr. Charles Huang, Plainview; Bobby Keefner, Plainview; Giovanna Lacey, San Antonio; Kevin Lewis, Plainview; Carolyn Magallan, Plainview; Monsa Paul, Plainview; Sally Quiroz, Plainview; Paul Rodriguez, San Antonio; Dr. Karen Beth Strovas, Plainview; Dr. Christopher Thornhill, Plainview; Dr. Trish Trifilo, Plainview.

15 Years: LaAndra Amaya, Plainview; Dr. Eric Ash, Anchorage; Dr. Ben Craver, San Antonio; Jim Giacomazzi, Plainview; Dr. Gary Gray, Plainview; Sandra Nixon, Plainview; Shiloh Posey, Plainview; Trena Segovia, Plainview; Dr. Christopher Truitt, Lubbock; Teresa Young, Plainview.

20 Years: Dr. James Antenen, San Antonio; Wendi Dunlap, Wichita Falls; Brenda Gonzalez, Plainview; Debbie Lane, Plainview; Connie Luque, Anchorage; Dr. Robert Morris, San Antonio; Leticia Rangel, San Antonio; Dr. Henrique Regina, Hawaii; Dr. David Unfred, Lubbock; Dr. Sammy Van Hoose, Plainview; Dr. Timothy Walsh, Plainview.

25 Years: Patricia Landeros, Plainview; Dr. Brian McClenagan, Plainview; Dr. Anthony Strange, Plainview; Michael Zimmerman, Anchorage.

30 Years: Dr. Niler Pyeatt, Plainview.

35 Years: Dr. Geoff Wells, Plainview

40 Years: Dr. Bobby Hall, Plainview

45 Years: Dr. Candace Keller, Plainview



Photo Caption: Wayland recognized several employees with special awards during its annual Employee Award Luncheon last Friday. Pictured are (from left) Dr. Judy Jarratt, Contribution to the Profession; Dr. Kimberlee Mendoza, Faculty Scholarship Award; Donnie Brown, Alumni Distinguished Staff Service Award; Jonathan Petty, Staff Community Service Award; Dr. Justin Lawrence, Alumni Distinguished Faculty Service Award; Christina Longoria, Staff Campus/Student Involvement Award; Jana Muniz, Staff Excellence Award. Not pictured are Dr. Karen Beth Strovas, Faculty University Service Award, and Dr. Keri James, Faculty Community Service Award.