Science Students Perform Well at TAS

Four Science Jeopardy students stand for a team photo
Wayland students Luke Brown, from left, Jai’Cee Tudman, Sara van der Leek and Kyle Rickman was first place in the inaugural Science Jeopardy competition at the Texas Academy of Sciences meeting in Brownwood.

BROWNWOOD – Wayland Baptist University science students were recognized for their outstanding research at the Texas Academy of Sciences meeting recently in Brownwood.

Wayland took 15 students who presented research as talks and posters in topical sections for plant biology, biomedical sciences, terrestrial ecology, neuroscience, chemistry and biochemistry, and cell and molecular biology. Nearly every university throughout the state of Texas presents undergraduate research at the event. Not only did several WBU students take top prizes at the event, but the student team of Sara van der Leek, Luke Brown, Jai’Cee Tudman and Kyle Rickman also won the inaugural Science Jeopardy competition.

Leigh Ann DeMerritt had the best oral presentation on terrestrial ecology and was awarded for third best oral presentation overall. Krista Epley had the best oral presentation in plant biology. Trey Watkins was recognized with the best poster in plant biology and Tudman had the best poster in cell and molecular biology.

Top awards were given for both posters and talks in each section. The top award in each section won $50 with the top three best overall presentations winning $300, $200 and $100 respectively.

Along with the presentation awards, Josh Wynn also submitted an undergraduate research grant proposal and was awarded $2,000 to fund his undergraduate research project in geology.