Students Recognized as Pioneers of Promise

October 26, 2018

Winners Receive Awards
Top: Margarette Lecker, left, receives her Pioneers of Promise award from Olivia Adams, member of the Alumni Association Board. Margarette was honored by the School of Behavioral and Social Sciences. Bottom: Olivia Adams, member of the Alumni Association Board, presents the Pioneers of Promise Award for the School of Math and Sciences to Joshua Wynn.

PLAINVIEW – Students from each of Wayland Baptist University’s academic schools were honored as the second class of Pioneers of Promise during the Alumni Awards Dinner held Friday, Oct. 26, as part of homecoming weekend.

“Our academic schools each choose a student that we define simply as ‘ones to watch,’ good all-around students who are active on campus and represent Wayland well,” explained Teresa Young, director of alumni relations. “We introduce them and present the awards during our homecoming dinner so that our alums can see the great caliber of students we current have, and so our students can be inspired by the accomplishments of the Distinguished Alumni Award winners. It’s a win-win.”

Winners by academic school are as follows:

  • The School of Behavioral and Social Sciences honored Margarette Lecker, a sophomore history major from Abernathy. A first-generation college student, Margarette returned to school after home-schooling three of her six children. She is described as a hard worker and she wants to teach and minister to women overcoming addiction and abuse.

  • The School of Business honored Jackson Harbison. A senior business administration major and a legacy student from Shallowater, Jackson is described as an engaged and professional student who has a passion to own his own business. He is concurrently working on his mortuary school degree and plans to minister through that medium.

  • The School of Education honored Robyn Fortenberry, a senior elementary education major from Plainview. Robyn is described as a bright, hard-working student who is willing to try new things and is active and committed to the university. She serves as a student worker at Thunderbird Elementary and aspires to teach.

  • The School of Fine Arts honored Ian Kirk. A senior mass communications major from Baldwin, Kan., Ian is also involved heavily in the University Theatre program both on stage and behind the scenes. He is described as a hard-working and professional student who is already using his talents as part of the video crew.

  • The School of Languages and Literature honored Marissa Felton. A senior English and art major from Amarillo, Marissa is noted for her servant-leadership in organizations like Student Alumni Council and Sigma Tau Delta. She is part of the campus creation care committee and was accepted for a roundtable discussion at Sigma Tau convention.

  • The School of Math and Sciences honored Joshua Wynn, a junior geology and math major from Universal City. Joshua is active in undergraduate research and has presented on flint knapping at the Geological Society and the Texas Academy of Sciences. He is described as standing out from peers for his dedication to coursework and research.

  • The School of Music honored Erin Pearce, a junior vocal performance major and a legacy student from Clovis, N.M. Erin is described as an exemplary student who balances her classwork with roles in many productions with skill and is an admirable role model. She also serves as the school’s recruiting intern and is passionate about her impact on Wayland.

  • The School of Religion and Philosophy honored Anderson Schmig. A senior recreation and camp management major from Sierra Vista, Ariz., Anderson is described as a diligent student, a faithful husband and an effective local church minister who has been active in missions ventures and campus ministry endeavors.