Flying Queens Nominated for Hall

WBU spirit logo

PLAINVIEW, Texas -- The Wayland Baptist University Flying Queens basketball program has once again been nominated for enshrinement to the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame. This is the fourth year the program has received such a nomination, finishing as a finalist the last three years.

The Flying Queens were nominated as part of a new direct-elect category for women veterans. The Women's Veterans direct-elect committee aims to recognize the historical greats of the women's game. Along with the team, Lometa Odom was nominated as a player and Harley Redin was nominated as a coach.

Read more about the nomination from the Naismith Hall of Fame.

The Queens hold the record for the most wins by a women’s collegiate team with  300+ more wins than any other team. During the past 70 years of basketball (1948-2018), the Queens have a winning percentage of .743. The Flying Queens are also the current record holder for consecutive wins by either a women’s or men’s team. From 1953 to 1958, the Queens won 131 consecutive games.

In the early 1950s, Wayland began providing 13 full scholarships for women’s basketball players, becoming the first four-year college program to do so, decades prior to Title IX. As a result, annual tryouts attracted women from all over the nation. The team has won 10 National AAU Championships (Amateur Athletic Union),  and 9 NWIT titles (National Women’s Invitational Tournament). The Queens have also had 212 All-American honors.

“The Queens and their coaches, over the decades, have strongly influenced women’s collegiate basketball,” said Wayland President Dr. Bobby Hall. “Through educating athletes, advancing the concept of postseason play, winning championships, modernizing rules and playing internationally, this team has a strong history of trailblazing that has laid the foundation for today’s game."

The Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame will announce the finalists for consideration for enshrinement in February. The enshrinement class will be announced in April with an induction ceremony taking place in September.