WBU Recognizes Employees for Service and Achievement

WBU Employee Award Winners
Wayland Baptist University held its annual awards luncheon on Thursday. The major award winners included, (back, from left) Dr. Kevin Sweeney, Piper Professor Award; Dr. Peter Bowen, Faculty Alumni Award; Steve Long, Faculty Community Service Award; Dr. Marti Runnels, Faculty University Service Award; Dr. Joe Marnell, Extension Campus Alumni Award; (front, from left) Cynthia Trevino, Staff University Service Award; Teresa Young, Staff Campus/Student Involvement Award; Elizabeth Hudspeth, Staff Excellence Award; and Kelli Watson, Staff Community Service Award.

PLAINVIEW – Wayland Baptist University faculty and staff gathered on Thursday for its annual employee awards luncheon. The program was streamed live for the first time so that employees at Wayland’s external campuses could be part of the event.

Employees are recognized for their years of service to the university, and special faculty and staff awards, voted on by employees, are handed out.

Wayland President Dr. Bobby Hall opened the event by thanking everyone for their service to the university. He then proceeded to recognize employees for their landmark years of service. Dr. Candace Keller, professor of art, received special recognition for having served at the university for 40 years.

Dr. Kevin Sweeney was named Wayland’s Piper Professor Award nominee for 2017. The Minnie Stephens Piper Award is given out to 10 college professors throughout the state of Texas each year in recognition of their academic, scientific, and scholarly achievements, as well as their dedication to the profession. Colleges and universities throughout the state are encouraged to nominate professors each year.

The Association of Former Students handed out awards to a faculty member, staff member and external campus employee, recognizing them for their unique service to the university. Dr. Pete Bowen, Dean of the School of Behavioral and Social Sciences, received the faculty award. Director of Admissions Debbie Stennett was named the faculty award winner and Dr. Joe Marnell, of the Lubbock campus, took home the external campus award.

Special staff awards were handed out next with Cynthia Trevino receiving the University Service Award for her dedication and commitment to meeting the needs of the university and its employees. Kelli Watson received the Community Service Award for her work within the Plainview and Wayland community. Teresa Young was the recipient of the Campus/Student Involvement Award and Elizabeth Hudspeth received the Excellence Award for her commitment to her job.

The faculty University Service Award went to Dr. Marti Runnels, Dean of the School of Fine Arts, for his work with the Presidential Inauguration Committee as well as his commitment to theatre and the arts, and promoting Wayland’s programs through the country. Steve Long, associate professor of communications and media studies, received the Community Service Award for his work in the community. Dr. Jeff Tillman, professor of religion at the Wichita Falls campus, received the Faculty Scholarship Award. Dr. Rebekah Crowe, assistant professor of history, received the Contribution to the Profession Award.

Other special recognition included Dr. Jim Todd who is retiring, and those faculty members receiving promotions, pending approval next week by Wayland’s Board of Trustees.

University Service Award Recipients:

Five Year Awards: Mike Allen, Plainview; Dr. Laura Brandenburg, Plainview; Roque Cantu, San Antonio; Dr. Hyung Sek Chae, Plainview; Amber Coleman, Plainview; Jeanette Curry, Plainview; Dr. Daniela Derderian, Plainview; Dr. Jimmie Flores, San Antonio; Bibiane Goldberg, San Antonio; Beth Hall, Plainview; Dr. Charles Chaoque Huang, Plainview; Dr. John Jemar, Anchorage; Bobby Keefner, Plainview; Giovanna Lacey, San Antonio; Kevin Lewis, Plainview; Carolyn Magallan, Plainview; Roxanne Matthews, Fairbanks; Monsa Paul, Plainview; Sally Quiroz, Plainview; Dr. Patricia Ritschel-Trifilo, Plainview; Paul Rodriguez, San Antonio; Landon Schumacher, Plainview; Silvestre Serros, San Antonio; Dr. Karen Beth Strovas, Plainview; Dr. Christopher Thornhill, Plainview; Dr. James Walker Todd, San Antonio; Kelli Watson, Plainview; Randy Watson, Plainview; Todd Weldon, Plainview

Ten Year Awards: LeAndra Lea Amaya, Plainview; Dr. Eric Ash, Anchorage; Mrs. Liza Bell, San Antonio; Dr. Timothy Brady, Sierra Vista; Dr. Kimberly Brown, Plainview; Mark Bryan, Plainview; Carol Clayton, Anchorage; Dr. Ben Craver, San Antonio; Dr. Karen Dempster, Fairbanks; Debbe Fikes, Plainview; Jim Giacomazzi, Plainview; Dr. Gary Gray, Plainview; Penny Hall, Albuquerque; Janie Keller, Plainview; Sandra Nixon, Plainview; Shiloh Posey, Plainview; Carnetta Preyer, San Antonio; Karen Quebe, Plainview; Kevin Romberg, Plainview; Trena Segovia, Plainview; Dr. Richard Shaw, Plainview; Jenna Steinle, Plainview; Chris Styne, Plainview; Dr. Christopher Truitt, Lubbock; Dr. Joe Vandiver, Plainview

Fifteen Year Awards: Dr. James Antenen, San Antonio; Dr. Bill Ballard, Lubbock; Debbie Burgess, Plainview; Dr. Barbara Carr, Plainview; Dr. Leah Cole, Plainview/San Antonio; Sheila Diggs, Lubbock; Wendi Dunlap, Wichita Falls; James Floyd, Clovis; Carol Gamboa, Plainview; Brenda Gonzalez, Plainview; Debbie Lane, Plainview; Connie Luque, Anchorage; Johnie Morris, Plainview; Dr. Robert Morris, San Antonio; Lina Muth, San Antonio; Dr. Jerry Price, San Antonio; Leticia Rangel, San Antonio; Henrique Regina, Hawaii; Wally Smith, Fairbanks; Dr. David Unfred, Lubbock; Dr. Sammy Van Hoose, Plainview; Dr. Timothy Walsh, Plainview; Teresa Young, Plainview

Twenty Year Awards: Patricia Landeros, Plainview; Dr. Anthony Strange, Plainview; Michael Zimmerman, Anchorage

Twenty-Five Year Awards: Dr. D. Niler Pyeatt, Plainview

Thirty Year Award: Dr. Geoff Wells, Plainview

Thirty-Five Year Award: Dr. Bobby Hall, Plainview

Forty Year Award: Dr. Candace Keller, Plainview