Wayland commencement recognizes graduates, honors Owens and Armes

PLAINVIEW – Wayland Baptist University held its spring commencement exercises Saturday afternoon in Hutcherson Center with 138 graduates participating. The administration and Board of Trustees also took time to recognize Wayland President Dr. Paul Armes and Dean of the School of Behavioral and Social Sciences and University Historian Dr. Estelle Owens, conferring the title of Emeritus on each of them.

In his final address to the student body, Armes, who is retiring at the end of June, encouraged students to make the most of their opportunities and potential. His brief address challenged graduates to see graduation as a beginning for the rest of their lives. He told them to never underestimate their potential to change the world, using the lessons they have learned and knowledge they gained at Wayland to influence the world around them. Most importantly, Armes challenged students to never stop seeking their place within God’s plan for their lives.

Conner Carpenter, who was recognized as the highest ranking graduate based on grade point average, gave the student address. Carpenter, of Farwell, congratulated his fellow graduates on their accomplishments then challenged them to “take the flame of Wayland with you.”

Carpenter encouraged his classmates to use faith and understanding to make the world a better place.

Owens was conferred emeritus status upon her retirement at the end of June. Owens, who graduated from Wayland in 1971, has taught at the university for 41 years. Executive Vice President and Provost Dr. Bobby Hall presented her with a plaque signifying her appointment by the Board of Trustees as Emeritus Professor of History and University Historian.

“She has served in virtually every role you can imagine here at Wayland either formally or informally from student secretary all the way to her present appointment as Dean of the School of Behavioral and Social Sciences,” Hall said. “Since 1974, Dr. Owens has very capably served this university as a faculty member and then as an academic administrator.”

Hall then pointed to Owens’ record as a teacher and scholar with the many academic accomplishments, presentations and awards she has earned as reference to her impact on Wayland.

Dr. Vernon Stokes, Chairman of the Board of Trustees then made a special presentation to Dr. Armes, conferring the title of President Emeritus of Wayland Baptist University for his service and contributions throughout the past 15 years.

Those graduating on Saturday were:

Master of Arts in Counseling: Najuka Anderson, Lubbock; Annette Coon, Avon, IN; Mirandi Edwards, Plainview; Candace Garcia, Ira; Stephanie Gatlin, Lubbock; Chelsee Jordan, Lubbock; Kristina Luera, Lubbock; Erin Seale, Shallowater; Linda Taylor, Happy.

Master of Arts in English: Camy Brunson, Plainview; Raylene Nuffer, Lubbock; Jeffrey Parish, Greenville.

Master of Arts in History: Richard Kaserman, Fort Myers, FL; Jessica Robinson, Hollis, OK; Priscilla Sacks, Lawton, OK.

Master of Arts in Management: Aricka Cano, Plainview; Lyndell Massey, Newbury Park, CA.

Master of Business Administration: Alma Datcher, Shreveport, LA; mark Edlin, Pueblo, CO; Valessa Gutierrez, Tulia; Jessica Killerlain, Lodi, WI; Cassie Mogg, Shallowater; Vuong Phuong, Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam; Richard Shaw, Santa Fe, NM; Cecilia Varela, Mission; Caitlin Walker, Lubbock.

Master of Christian Ministry: Louis Love, Bryan; Robert Moore, Garland.

Master of Education: Deborah Alcozer, Plainview; Tammy Baker, Morenci, AZ; Tyler Duggins, Plainview; Emily Johnson, Lockney.

Master of Public Administration: Michael Tokarski, Selma.

Bachelor of Applied Science: Keith Broughton, Abilene; Emarie Holland, Burkburnett; Jordan Johnson, Dallas; Connie McGuire, Arlington; Morris Mitchell, Atlanta, GA; Amin Norris, jersey City, NJ; Veronica Reyes, Plainview; Nathaniel Sarabia, Plainview; Marie Vinson, Plainview; Evelyn Voyles, Plainview; Holly Warren, Colorado City; Bunja Yaboe, Brikama, Gambia.

Bachelor of Arts With Honors: Ashley Price, Allison.

Bachelor of Arts: Christopher Acosta, Amarillo; Kristofer Bransom, Simonton; Conner Carpenter, Farwell; Markese Christian, Houston; Dylan Clark, Amarillo; Elisabeth Cruz, Roby; Holly Falkner, Largo, FL; Zachary Fisher, Louisville, KY; Hannah Goble, Keller; Brandon Grant, Bushland; Shaina Hart, Artesia, NM; Durawn Howard, Sacramento, CA; Wayne Lum, Bastrop; Juliana Martinez, Las Vegas, NV; Calvin McDaniel, Marble Falls; Aaron Montgomery, Lancaster; Michael Napier, Jr., Rio Rancho, NM; Alicia Pando, Plainview; Elisha Rodriguez, Plainview; Shane Spencer, Bakersfield, CA; Miguel Teos, El Salvador, San Salvador; Joe Urena, New York City, NY; Sarah Louise Van Der Linden, Oceanside, CA; Katelyn Wilson, Morse; Zaca Wilson, Fritch; Christopher Woodcook, Brownfield.

Bachelor of Business Administration: Renato dos Anjos, Sao Paulo, Brazil; Ian-Ashley Ansett, Johannesburg, South Africa; Chelsa Ball, Plainview; Paxton Bartley, Lubbock; Brayden Blackwell, Lubbock; Alexis Browner, Sacramento, CA; Tristan Cottrell, Abilene; Thomas Curry, Jr., Plainview; Chelsey Driskill, Lubbock; Kevin Dunn, Bowie; Logan Evans, Plainview; Kesley Gittens, Bridgetown, Barbados; Kristyna Mosqueda-Rogers, Abernathy; David Neuberth, Baltimore, MD; Melanie Panko, Las Vegas, NV; Andrew Porras, Hereford; Quinton Shafer, Gail; JoRobin Taylor, Plainview; Georgia Ann Tucker, Fort Sumner, NM; Ashley Zang, Amarillo.

Bachelor of Fine Arts: Ian Pyeatt, Plainview; Cody Watson, Plainview.

Bachelor of Music: Lyndsey Dean, Lubbock; Andrea Hamric, El Paso; Richard Ralston, Fort Worth; Megan Robinett, Lubbock.

Bachelor of Science With Honors: Lauryn Bruggink, Oak Creek, CO; Sara Flinn, Lubbock.

Bachelor of Science: Tyler Adams, Show Low, AZ; Stephanie Afunugo, McKinney; Jessica Bell, San Antonio; Blake Boyter, Gainesville; Colin Brown, San Angelo; Mackenzie Browning, Plainview; Daniel Capps, Lovington, NM; Jose Castilleja, Jr., San Juan; Krista Duffield, Childress; Mariy Essani, Moscow Suburbs, Russia; T-Keeyak Hall Fanner, Vernon; Bianca Farrington, Freeport, Bahamas; Michael Felton, Jr., New Orleans, LA; Karla Guerrero, Austin; Shahala Hawkins, Denver City; Sarah Kelly, Stinnett; Ruben Lopez, El Paso; Wayne Northover, Kingston, Jamaica; Colton Palmer, Plainview; Andrew Payne, Lubbock; Taylor Pierce, Shallowater; Jon Michael Richardson, Plainview; Marcus Romo, El Paso; Valeria Rosales, El Paso; Rebekah Spain, Olton; Victory Thomas, Jr., Bryan; Catherine Wiechmann, Lubbock.

Bachelor of Science in Interdisciplinary Studies: Edna Aguirre, Plainview; Olivia Bybee, Amarillo; Ellen Cothran, Plainview; Alyson Darby, Lubbock; Brooke Fowler, Kress; Bethany Gallardo, Plainview; Jessica Lopez, Plainview; Abigail Manes, Amarillo; Chelsea Rushing, Plainview; Kelsi Schaefer, Ranger; Megan Summers, Amarillo.