WBU recognizes its employees

PLAINVIEW – Wayland Baptist University recognized its own Friday afternoon at a special luncheon and awards ceremony. The annual event is an opportunity for university employees to celebrate each other, recognizing years of service as well as individual excellence awards.

Wayland President Dr. Paul Armes welcomed those in attendance, then handed out service awards recognizing those who have reached 5, 10, 15, 20, 25 and 30 years of service to the university.

Dr. Armes then recognized those individuals who are retiring at the end of the 2015-16 academic year. That list includes himself after 15 years as president of the university. Also retiring this year is Dr. Estelle Owens, Dean of the School of Behavioral and Social Sciences, who has been with the university for the past 41 years. Eddie Turner, manager of the university store, is also retiring after 41 years, having joined Wayland in 1974. Dr. Glyndle Feagin, professor of religion, is retiring. He original joined the faculty in 1992. Lena Morphis, who served in accounts payable for 25 years, and Dean of Students Tom Hall, 24 years at Wayland, are also retiring.

Carolyn Andrews, Executive Assistant to the President, is following Dr. Armes out the retirement door after 15 years with Wayland. And Dr. Josh Thompson, who teaches at the Wichita Falls campus, is retiring after 20 years with the university.

Each year Wayland nominates one faculty member as the school’s representative for the Piper Professor Award, a statewide award that seeks to recognize those professors who excel in the classroom and show dedication to their profession. This year’s nominee is Dr. Cindy McClenagan, Dean of the School of Languages and Literature.

The Alumni Association handed out a trio of awards for outstanding faculty, staff and external campus employees. The Outstanding Faculty Award also went to Dr. McClenagan. Teresa Moore, Director of Counseling, Career and Disability Services, was named Outstanding Staff and the Outstanding External Campus employee award was given to Natasha Golden at Wayland’s Hawaii campus.

University officials then handed out the special staff and faculty awards, as voted on by their peers.

The staff awards were handed out first with the University Service Award going to Carolyn Andrews. Randy Watson, supervisor at Jimmy Dean Hall, received the Community Service Award. Beverly Steed, administrative assistant in athletics, received the award for Campus/Student Involvement and Brandy Haines, business office assistant, received the Excellence Award.

The faculty awards followed with Dr. Scott Strovas, Assistant Professor of Music History, received the University Service Award. Associate Professor of Management Dr. David Rambow, who teaches as the Anchorage campus, received the Community Service Award. The Scholarship Award went to Dr. Kevin Sweeney for an historical manuscript that is soon to publish, and Dr. Rick Shaw received the university’s Contribution to the Profession Award.

Those receiving recognition for years of service were:

Five Year Awards: Shaney Staton, Plainview; Patty Cacace, San Antonio; Dr. Tamara Moore Callahan, Clovis; Virginia Craver, San Antonio; Carla Cubine, Plainview; Gracie Duggins, Plainview; Ashley Hardage Edlin, Plainview; Dr. Barry Evans, Plainview; Dr. Paul Fikes, Plainview; butch Henderson, Plainview; Erica Kaiser, Plainview; Kathleen Kiernan, San Antonio; Dr. Justin Lawrence, Plainview; Dr. Mee-Gaik Lim, San Antonio; Dr. Clinton Lowin, Plainview; Makenna Maloy, San Antonio; Tommy McMillian, Plainview; Megan McPherson, Plainview; Amanda Medrano, San Antonio; David Nelson, Clovis; Sylvia Phipps, San Antonio; Kelley Pettit, Plainview; Dr. Christy Reed, Lubbock; Alyssa Wagner, Lubbock.

Ten Year Awards: Danny Andrews, Plainview; Jennifer Brown, Online; Dr. Cassie Collins, Plainview; Beth Durbin, Fairbanks; Darlin Evans, San Antonio; Orpha Linda Flores, San Antonio; Dr. Diane Frazor, San Antonio; Elva Hipolito, Plainview; Connie Jackson, Amarillo; Pamela Landis, Wichita Falls; Jennifer Martin, Online; Brenda Solis-Martinez, Plainview; Joni Mayhew, Plainview; Mike Melcher, Plainview; Steven Million, Anchorage; Kristi Moore, Plainview; Linda Reyna, San Antonio; Dr. Jose Rubio, Plainview; Jeannine Shackelford, Plainview; Dr. Charlene Smith, San Antonio; Christopher Williams, Plainview.

Fifteen Year Awards: Carolyn Andrews, Plainview; Dr. Paul Armes, Plainview; Dr. Don Ashley, Anchorage; Lois Barnes, Wichita Falls; Sandra Bell, San Antonio; Donnie Brown, Plainview; Dr. Thomas Fisher, Albuquerque; Tom Harp, Plainview; Rosemary Hendley, Lubbock; Dr. Linda Hutcherson, Plainview; Dr. Donald Knox, Online; Jimmy Marr, Plainview; Perri McDonald, Plainview; Teresa Moore, Plainview; Dr. Joshua Mora, Plainview; Dr. Sandra Mosteller, Plainview; Dr. Ralph Palumbo, Online; Barbara Pauda, Plainview; Ken Reyes, San Antonio; Dr. Kevin Sweeney, Plainview; Jodi Underhill, Wichita Falls.

Twenty Year Awards: Virgil Hart, Plainview; Rosalie Hernandez, Plainview; Karen LaQuey, Plainview; Marcia Million, Anchorage; Dr. David Rambow, Anchorage; Dr. Josh Thompson, Wichita Falls; Dr. Jeffrey Tillman, Wichita Falls.

Twenty-Five Year Awards: Dr. Jeff Anderson, Anchorage; Sherri King, Plainview; Dr. Claude Lusk, Plainview; Dr. Brian McClenagan, Plainview; Lena Morphis, Plainview.

Thirty Year Awards: Vickie Hughes, Plainview.