Adams, Bailey named Citizens of the Year at Wayland

April 22, 2015

PLAINVIEW – Wayland Baptist University held its annual recognition and awards chapel on Wednesday in Harral Memorial Auditorium. The annual event is when the university recognizes top students in each academic discipline as well as those who stood out during through academics, leadership and campus life throughout the school year.

Highlighting the ceremony is the announcement of the male and female Citizenship Award winners. This is the highest honor given to a graduating male and female student each year, as voted on by students and faculty. This is the 59th time the award has been given since it was established in 1957. Nicole Adams, a religion and psychology major from Amarillo, and Joshua Bailey, who graduated in December with a degree in mathematics education and is currently working on his master’s, are the 2015 recipients. Bailey is from Lovington, N.M.

Bailey was a member of the leadership group that started the Pioneer football program. He has been a constant fixture on the team throughout his years at Wayland is will play one more season, in 2015, while completing his master’s degree. He has been named All-Conference and Academic All American as a member of the team.

Bailey serves in leadership with the Fellowship of Christian Athletes as well as on the leadership team of the Baptist Student Ministries. He has been a resident advisor in Jimmy Dean Hall for three years.

Bailey is the son of Michael and Kelli Bailey.

Adams will graduate in May with a double major in psychology and religion. While at Wayland she has been active in student life, serving as a leader and co-director for Wayland’s new student orientation. She was crowned Miss Wayland 2014 and currently serves on the BSM Leadership Council and as the prayer ministry coordinator. Adams volunteers with the Crisis Center of the Plains and plans to pursue a career in ministry. She is the daughter of Steven and Tinia Adams.

Freshmen of the Year honors went to two students from Plainview whose parents are also Wayland graduates. Carley Hardage, daughter of Tim and Stacy Hardage, was named the Freshman Woman of the Year by the Alumni Association. Levi Brown, son of Greg and Jill Brown, was named Freshman Man of the Year.

Wayland also recognized outstanding students in each academic discipline, as well as Senator of the Year, Pioneer Scholars, Who’s Who and Spinning Wheels. Wednesday’s award recipients were:

Citizenship Award: Nicole Adams, Josh Bailey
Senator of the Year: David Garrett
Freshmen of the Year: Carley Hardage, Levi Brown

Outstanding Student Awards
School of Behavioral and Social Sciences
Justice Administration: Sam martin
Sociology: Sarah Williams
Psychology: Jordan Nelson
History: Sarah Langford

School of Business
Accounting: Amanda Ramirez
Business Administration: Tamra Klusmeyer, Alma Ramirez
Management information Systems: Ian Ansett
Management: Cody Lindberg
Marketing: Kevin Dunn
Economics: Jessica Echols
Finance: Melanie Panko
International Management: Sarah Walton

School of Education
Elementary Education: Chasity Mooney
Secondary Education: Joshua Bailey
All Level Education: Kelsi Crawford
Exercise and Sport Science Education: Lorenzo Dophus
Exercise and Sport Science Fitness Management: Sara Flinn

School of Fine Arts
Excellence in Art: Steven Burgin
Excellence in Theatre: Katelyn Wilson
Excellence in Communication Studies: Alex Driggars
Excellence in Media Communications: Katherine Teinert

School of Languages and Literature
English: Lance Williams
Spanish: Andrew Cosper
French: Haley Bonner
Chinese: Katherine Teinert
Latin: Ian Pyeatt, Tyquanisha Brantley

School of Mathematics and Sciences
Biology: Ashley Rivera
Chemistry: Sarah Kelly
Mathematics: Emileigh Willems
Geology: Kaylee Lawrence

School of Music
Piano: Andrea Hamric
Vocal Music: Megan Robinett
Choral Music Education: Pedro Omar Hernandez
Instrumental Music Education: Lyndsey Dean
Instrumental Music: Richard Ralston

School of Religion and Philosophy
Arthur E. Boyd Award: Sean Powell
Amelia Bishop Women’s Ministerial Award: Ashley Price
Religion: Matt Evans
Religious Education: Ashley Teague
Recreation and Camp Management: Whitney Fernandez

Pioneer Scholars: Nicole Adams, Jessica Kenneson, Sarah Langford, Haley Reiser, Katherine Teinert, Sarah Wennersten, Benjamin Whiteside, Lance Williams, Emileigh Willems

Centennial Scholars: Andi Shea, Samuel Martin, Thomas Yeates, Jordan Nelson

Spinning Wheels: Nicole Adams, Shaina Beasley, Haley Bonner, Bryce Hollingsworth, Krista Duffield, David Hockenberry, Rachel Peters, Ashley Teague.

Who’s Who: Alicia Vega, Andi James, Andrew Cosper, Angela Vyborny, Ashley Rivera, Ben Whiteside, Brent Knox, Brian Allen, Briton Askins, Chanda Smith, Chasity Mooney, Conner Carpenter, Craig Cook, David Rogers, Emileigh Willems, Hailey Reiser, Haley Bonner, Hannah Goble, Ian Pyeatt, Jerilyn Partin, Jessica Kenneson, Jordan Nelson, Joshua Bailey, Joshua Faupel, Kamber Hayes, Katelyn Wilson, Katherine Teinert, Kaylie Young, Lance Williams, lamin Sawaneh, Lauryn Bruggink, Logan Askins, Lyndsey Dean, Madison Abbott, Megan Robinett, Nicole Adams, Omar Hernandez, Rebecca Davis, Richard Ralston, Ross James, Sarah Kelly, Sarah Satour Langford, Steven Burgin, Thomas McElwain, Jessica Echols, Amanda Ramirez, Veronica Garcia.