Wayland recognizes employees for service to the school

April 5, 2014

PLAINVIEW -- Wayland Baptist University held its annual faculty and staff awards luncheon on Friday in the Laney Student Activities Center. Each year, employees are recognized for extraordinary service to the university.

Two employees received special recognition for 40 years of service to the university. Dr. Estelle Owens, Dean of the School of Behavioral and Social Sciences, and Eddie Turner, manager of the University Store, each received a standing ovation from their peers.

Other employees were recognized for years of service in 5-year increments. Danny Murphree, Director of Property Management, was recognized for 30 years of service and Barbara Pitman (Lubbock campus) and Dr. Marti Runnels, Dean of the School of Fine Arts, were recognized for 20 years.

Each year Wayland nominates one faculty member as the school’s representative for the Piper Professor Award, a statewide award that seeks to recognize those professors who excel in the classroom and show dedication to their profession. This year’s nominee is Dr. Candace Keller, Professor of Art and Curator of Art at the Llano Estacado Museum and Abraham Art Gallery. Dr. Keller has been teaching at Wayland since 1977.

The Wayland Alumni Association handed out awards to one faculty and one staff member, recognizing them for their outstanding service to the university. Dr. Jim Todd, Dean of the School of Education, and Tommie Flick, Administrative Assistant in the Offices of Development, were this year’s recipients.

The staff awards were presented next. Beverly Steed, Administrative Assistant in athletics, received the University Service Award for outstanding service. The Community Service Award went to Kelli Watson, Administrative Assistant in the School of Fine Arts. Sheila Wood, Coordinator of Student Financial Accounts, received the Campus/Student Involvement Award, and Bertha Sistrunk, General Accounting Manager, received the University Excellence Award - Plainview. Wendy Dunlap, who has been at the Wichita Falls campus for 11 years, received the External Campus Excellence Award.

University faculty members were then recognized for their outstanding accomplishments. Dr. Niler Pyeatt, Professor of History and Director of the Honors Program, received the University Service Award. The Community Service Award went to Mark Hilliard, Associate Professor of Art and Art Education, for his work with the community garden and other organizations around town. Dr. Karen Beth Strovas, Assistant Professor of English, received the faculty Scholarship Award, and Dr. Keller was recognized for her artwork with the Contribution to the Profession Award.

Receiving Service Award Pins were:

5-Year Awards Plainview Campus: Bonnie Jo Belcher, Sean Ditmore, Carol Edwards, Brandy Haines, Brenda Huckabee, Victoria Huffhines, Dr. Andrew Kasner, Dr. Deborah Kuhlmann, Debbie McCormick, Jami McPherson, Dr. Emilia Moore, Ty Nixon, Tommie Quebe, Candy Waller, Dr. Gene Whitfill.

5-Year Awards External Campuses: Carl Beard, Gabriel Campos, Mary Conforti, Kaeli Gonzalez, Alicia Hummel, Carolyn Mueller, Al Smith, Wendy Wright and Marjorie Yandell of San Antonio; Dr. Michael Dain, Barbara Peterson of Lubbock; Kevin Downing of Phoenix; Kardyn Flores of Hawaii; Arlene Hernandez of Sierra Vista.

10-Year Awards Plainview Campus: Ron Appling, John Elliott, Hope English, Kathy Gwen, Dr. William Hahn, Lezlie Hukill, Nancy Keith, Dr. Elane Seebo, Geneva Tipton, Rodney Watson, Dr. Gilbert Werema, Brian Whitlock.

10-Year Awards External Campuses: Duane Bartolet, Dr. Keri James, Tami Sanders of San Antonio; Dr. Robert Carpenter, Dr. Dean Daniel of Wichita Falls; John Corvino of Albuquerque; Wes Cox, Dora Garcia, Dr. Judy Jarratt of Lubbock; Victoria Higa of Hawaii, Linda Hoffman of Anchorage.

15-Year Awards: Julia Bowen, Plainview; Lindsay Burgess, Lubbock; Dr. Perry Collins, Plainview; Dr. Hayoung Gim, Anchorage; Cindy Michlig, Anchorage; Dr. Carolyn Ratcliffe, Plainview; Dr. Adam Reinhart, Plainview; Yolanda Rodriguez, Plainview; Dr. Otto B. Schacht, Plainview.

20-Year Awards: Dr. Peter Bowen, Plainview; Dr. Tim Parker, San Antonio; Cathy Ward, San Antonio.

25-Year Awards: Barbara Pitman, Lubbock; Dr. Marti Runnels, Plainview.

30-Year Awards: Danny Murphree, Plainview.

40-Year Awards: Dr. Estelle Owens, Plainview; Eddie Turner, Plainview.