Pedigo, Templeton named Citizens of the Year

April 30, 2014

PLAINVIEW -- Wayland Baptist University held its annual recognition chapel Wednesday morning, taking time to recognize students for their achievements throughout the year. Chapel concluded with the recognition of the male and female Citizen of the Year awards, given to graduating seniors who have exemplified Christian character both in the classroom and out. Aubrey Pedigo and Kyler Templeton were named the 2014 Male and Female Citizen of the Year.

The Citizenship award is the highest honor bestowed upon students by the university. After being recognized in front of their peers in chapel, the honorees affix permanent nameplates to a plaque hanging in Gates Hall.

A senior from Canyon, Pedigo will graduate with a degree in elementary education on May 10. While at Wayland, she has been active in student life, serving as a K-Leader during Koinonia, Wayland’s new-student orientation held each fall. In 2012 she was voted Homecoming Queen and she was runner-up in the Miss Wayland pageant in 2011.

As member of the Flying Queens basketball team, Pedigo was the Sooner Athletic Conference nominee for the NAIA’s Leroy Walker Champions of Character Award and she received the Bill Hardage Champions of Character Award, given to the WBU student-athlete who best exemplifies the NAIA’s five core character values of respect, integrity, servant leadership, sportsmanship and responsibility. She also received the Flying Queens Hutcherson Family award.

Pedigo is a member of the Kappa Delta Pi education honor society and has sung with the Wayland Singers Chorus. She is the daughter of George and Sandra Pedigo.

A graduating senior from Stamford, Kyler has spent most of his time at school working behind the scenes. A former member of the Pioneer baseball program, he will graduate with a Bachelor of Science degree in Fitness Management. Kyler’s work on campus hasn’t gone unnoticed by Wayland athletes. A member of the training staff, Kyler spends 30-to-40 hours a week in the training room taping ankles and icing sore muscles, helping Wayland athletes prepare for competition.

He has served as a Resident Advisor in Jimmy Dean Hall and this season has been the online voice of the Pioneer Baseball team, providing play-by-play for Internet broadcasts as well as serving as the Public Address Announcer at Wilder Field.

Kyler recently completed his state licensure test and has applied to graduate schools for both athletic training and physical therapy. He is the son of Lannie and Sandy Templeton.

Wayland faculty also handed out various academic awards and student recognition. Those recognized are as follows:

Spinning Wheels: Nicole Adams, John Bocko, Meagan Dixon, Matthew Evans, Albert Fernande-Oliveria, David Hockenberry, Aubrey Pedigo, Megan Robinett, Jenna Swift, Lance Williams

Senator of the Year: Coleman Scroggins
Freshmen of the Year: Skyler Wood, Emily Brown
Outstanding Student in Religion: John Bocko
Amelia Bishop Women’s Ministerial Award: Blair Carter
Religious Education Award: Jeremy Ellison
Arthur E. Boyd Award: Daniel Capps
Outstanding Student in English: Hannah Wells
Outstanding Student in Spanish: Meagan Dixon
Outstanding Student in Chinese: Katherine Teinert
Outstanding Student in Latin: Rebecca Davis
Outstanding Student in Biology: Natividad Sandoval
Outstanding Student in Chemistry: Jessica Kenneson
Outstanding Student in Mathematics: Brian Adamson
Outstanding Student in Geology: Garrett Williamson
Outstanding Student in Political Science: Michael Holubik
Outstanding Student in Justice Administration: Brenda McCartie
Outstanding Student in Sociology: LaKeishia Walton
Outstanding Student in Psychology: Brenda McCartie
Outstanding Student in History: Ty Carthel
Outstanding Student in Social Studies Composite: Claire Jacobsma
Outstanding Student in Elementary Education: Allison Collins
Outstanding Student in Secondary Education: Joshua Bailey
Outstanding Student in All Level Education: Courtney Chambers
Outstanding Student in Special Education: Jerilyn Partin
Outstanding Student in Accounting: Rebecca Hall
Outstanding Student in Business Administration: Rosaura Luevano
Outstanding Student in MISM: Christopher Sellers
Outstanding Student in Management: Michael Gerber
Outstanding Student in Marketing: Janelle Durrough
Outstanding Student in Economics: Jessica Echols
Outstanding Student in Finance: John Thomas
Excellence in Art Award: Jonathan Riddle
Vocal Music Award: Benjamin Ufford
Choral Music Education Award: Christopher Kirby
Church Music Award: Jenna Swift
Instrumental Music Education Award: Kenneth Walker
Instrumental Music Award: Richard Ralston
Music Theory and Composition Award: Kaylie Young
Excellence in Theatre Award: Joanna Shutts
Excellence in Communication Studies Award: Elizabeth Williams
Excellence in Media Communications: Katherine Teinert

Who’s Who Award: Briand Adamson, Jaclyn Alford, Brandon Allen, Brian Allen, Josh Amador, Jaharys Archilla, Joshue Bailey, Katelyn Barnes, John Bocko, Rebekah Brown, Hailey Budnick, Trevor Burrow, Rane Carpenter, Blair Carter, Ty Carthel, Sarah Castro, Courtney Chambers, Allison Collins, Rebecca Davis, Lyndsey Dean, Megan Dixon, Lorenzo Dolphus, Doris Ellis, Jeremy Ellison, Matthew Evans, Michael Gerber, Natasha Giacomazzi, Rebecca Hall, Kamber Hayes, Robert Hovey, Claire Jacobsma, Ross James, Paige Keller, Jacob Kemmer, Jessica Killerlain, Anna Kite, Kyli Leal, Haley Lunsford, Brenda McCartie, Morgan Odom, Marco Palomo, Jerilyn Partin, Olivia Patterson, Aubrey Pedigo, Jonathan Riddle, Travis Rovillo, Natividad Sandoval, Coleman Scroggins, Joanna Shutts, Jenna Swift, Katherine Teinert, Kyler Templeton, Carolyn Thaxton, Priscilla Topp, Luis Trujillo, Benjamin Ufford, Phuong Vuong, Kenneth Walker, LaKeisha Walton, Hannah Wells, Ben Whiteside, Caitlin McCulloch Williams, Celie Williams, Elizabeth Williams, Lance Williams, Kaylie Young

Pioneer Scholars: Brian Adamson, Hailey Budnick, Trevor Burrow, Allison Collins, Meagan Dixon, Rebecca Hall, Paige Keller, Anna Kite, Aaron Prentice, Travis Rovillo, Luis Trujillo, Amanda Webster