WBU set for homecoming 2013

October 3, 2013

PLAINVIEW -- Wayland Baptist University is ready to Welcome Y’all Home for Homecoming 2013, set for Oct. 11-12.

A full slate of events has been planned for the two-day celebration, including special recognition for the honorary class of 1963.

Registration for the weekend officially begins at 9 a.m. on Friday, leading up to a special 11 a.m. chapel service. Several alums and WBU supporters will be honored during chapel with special recognition by the Association of Former Students. The service is open to the public.

Judge Bill Coleman, B.A.’72, will receive the Distinguished Service Alumni Award given to an alumnus who has showed “distinct service that justifies pride on the part of the university.” Coleman was elected as Hale County Judge in 2010, following 11 years of service as director of the Community Supervisions and Corrections Department. He also served as a probation officer and CSCD Director in other counties since 1978.

The Distinguished Leadership Alumni Award, given to an alumnus who “exhibits traits that have been recognized by his/her achievement in the area of vocation, civic or Christian service,” will be given to Steve Ahlenius, B.S.’83. Ahlenius is one of about 1,100 certified economic developers in the United States. He has served in numerous leadership positions in various communities throughout his career, as well as serving on the Wayland Board of Trustees from 1995-99.

Dr. Scott Franklin, B.A.’98, B.S.’98, will receive the Distinguished Young Alumni Award. Currently the Director of the Virtual Campus at Wayland, Dr. Franklin has served the university since accepting a teaching position in 2000 in the School of Math and Sciences. He is a former winner of the Faculty Scholarship Award and was named Wayland’s nominee for the Minnie Stevens Piper Professor Award in 2012.

Benefactors T.C. and Peggy Wall will be recognized during chapel for their contributions to Wayland. Not only will they receive the Distinguished Benefactor Award, but the Walls will also receive Keeper of the Flame recognition, an honor bestowed to those who have donated more than $100,000 to the university.

The Distinguished Alumni Award will be given to Joe, BA’66, and Freda Provence, BA’72, who have given a lifetime of service to Wayland. Joe accepted a position as Wayland’s first student recruiter in 1967 and worked in various capacities until he retired in 2007, being named Emeritus Director of Alumni Services. Freda worked in the President’s Office at Wayland for 25 years, also retiring in 2007. She served under five administrations.
Two honorees will receive the Distinguished Lifetime Service Award. Dr. Arch Mayfield spent 40 years in the English department at Wayland, only semi-retiring earlier this year. He continues to teach online courses in an adjunct capacity. Dr. Mayfield has received numerous honors and recognitions during his time at Wayland.

Emmitt Tipton will also be recognized for his lifetime of service. Tipton, B.S.’69, spent 30 years at Wayland, teaching accounting and servicing as the Dean of Students for 12 years. An Avid supporter of Wayland athletics, Tipton will also be inducted into the Athletics Hall of Honor on Saturday morning.

Other athletes being inducted into the Harley Redin Hall of Honor include Chrsity Shippy, B.A.’91, Kristee Turpin Phelps, B.S.’00, Rowena Welford Morton, B.S.’97, and Ty Harrelson, B.S.’04. The Hall of Honor ceremony will take place at 9:30 a.m. on Saturday.
Other events include “Voice of the Prairie” being performed by the Wayland theatre department. Show times are 7:30 p.m. on Friday and Saturday, and the Abraham Art Gallery is hosting “Word as Image: The Art of Sandra Bowden.”

The homecoming football game will feature the Pioneers hosting Bacone University at 2 p.m. on Saturday. The 2013 Homecoming Queen will be crowned at halftime.

For more information on Homecoming, contact Danny Andrews, Director of Alumni Development, at 806-291-3603.