Wayland recognizes exceptional students at chapel

May 1, 2013

PLAINVIEW -- Wayland Baptist University held its annual Recognition Chapel at Wednesday morning, awarding outstanding students for their work in the classroom and around campus.

The annual awards chapel culminates with the recognition of the Citizenship of the Year award for one male and one female student who have exemplified strong Christian character both in the classroom and out.

The 2013 Female Citizenship Award winner is Libby Saultz.

A native of Amarillo, Libby is the daughter of Sharon and David Saultz. She came to Wayland after graduating from Amarillo High School in 2009. She will graduate with a Bachelor of Science degree in molecular biology and a minor in mathematics this spring. While at Wayland, Libby has been an active member of the American Chemical Society, the Mathematical Association of America and Student Foundation.

The Male Citizenship Award winner for 2013 is Keenan Harris.

A native of Perryton, Keenan is the son of Keith and Dorla Harris. He came to Wayland after graduating from Perryton High School in 2009 and will graduate this spring with a Bachelor of Science degree in mathematic education and a minor in History. While at Wayland, Keenan has served as a President’s Ambassador and been involved with recruiting for the School of Education. He has been a student leader for Koinonia and other events on campus. Keenan is currently the college minster and leads music at Colonial Baptist Church and he coaches track at Plainview Christian Academy.

The Association of Former Students also recognized an outstanding male and female student as Freshman of the Year as voted on by the Wayland faculty and staff. Laura Castillo, of Plainview, was named Freshman Woman of the Year and Brandon Argueta, also of Plainview, was named Freshman Man of the Year.

Wayland also recognized students with other special awards. Award winners were:
Spinning Wheel Awards: Philip Avants, Katie Bice, Lorenzo Dolphus, Janelle Durrough, Krista Lennox, Angela Lichtie, Nicholas Morales, Aubrey Pedigo, Jenna Swift and Lance Williams.

Senator of the Year: Jaclyn Alford
Religion: Thomas Estes
Religious Education: Laremy Simmons
Recreation and Camp Management: Jessica Martinez
Timothy Award: Matt Molina
English: Rebekah Brown
Spanish: Tim Stone
German: Caitlin McCulloch
Chinese: Lindsay Inscore
Latin: Amanda Page
Biology: Libby Saultz
Chemistry: Jessica Kenneson
Mathematics: Caleb Schumacher
Geology: Hunter Green
Political Science: Michael Holubik
Justice Administration: Ian Mather
Sociology: Brianne Anderson
Psychology: Alyson Lockhart
History: Rachel Laue
Elementary: Carissa Clower
Secondary Education: Victoria Herbert
Middle School Education: Jancee Cotton
Special Education: Krisann Earp
Exercise and Sport Science Education: Trevor Burkhead
Exercise and Sport Science Fitness Management: David Cone
Accounting: Rebecca Day
Business Administration: Scott Langford
Management Information Systems: Samantha Garcia
Management: Ashley Rima
Marketing: Caitlin Walker
Economics: Anders Ellingsberg
Finance: Maria Carrillo
International Management: Nathalia Valencia
Excellence in Art: Monte Ratchford
Piano Award: Andrea Hamric
Vocal Music Award: Christopher Kirby
Choral Music Education: Gerardo Olivares
Church Music: Benjamin Ufford
Instrumental Music Education: Clint Lockhart
Theory and Composition: Brian Spruill
Excellence in Theatre: Coleman Scroggins
Excellence in Communication Studies: Rachel Smith
Excellence in Media Communications: Jordan Herrod

Who’s Who Award: Angel Azua, Hildon Boen, David Brousseau, Rebekah Brown, Hailey Budnick, Trevor Burrow, Connor Carpenter, Charles Carr, Carissa Clower, David Cone, Jancee Cotton, Rebecca Day, Catherine Dunn, Kendra Dunn, Taylor Eaves, Anders Ellingsberg, Thomas Estes, Matthew Evans, Samantha Garcia, Keenan Harris, Victoria Herbert, Angel Hernandez, Jordan Herrod, Michael Holubik, Lindsay Inscore, Sarah Johnson, Jessica Kenneson, Chris Kirby, Scott Langford, Rachel Laue, Angela Lichtie, Clint Lockhart, Elizabeth Miller, Matthew Molina, Gerardo Olivares, Amanda Page, Monte Ratchford, Jon Riddle, Ashley Rima, Damaris Rios, Michelle Ritter, Jarrett Ross, Libby Saultz, Caleb Schumacher, Coleman Scroggins, Joanna Shutts, Brian Spruill, Morgan Switzenber, Ben Ufford, Devin Valentine, Caitlin Walker, Lance Williams, Jenna Wilson, Kaylie Young

Pioneer Scholars: Taylor Eaves, Thomas Estes, Keenan Harris, Victoria Herbert, Lindsay Inscore, Angela Lichtie, Alyson Lockhart, Clint Lockhart, Ian Mather, Ashley Rima, Libby Saultz, Brian Spruill, Jenna Wilson.

- See more at: http://www.wbu.edu/news_and_events/2013/may/chapel.htm#sthash.6BsoXaaH.dpuf