Wayland recognizes outstanding employees

April 17, 2013

PLAINVIEW -- Wayland Baptist University held its annual Faculty and Staff Awards Luncheon on Friday in the Laney Student Activities Center, recognizing employees for their exceptional performance during the past year.

University President Dr. Paul Armes opened the program by recognizing employees for years of service. Wayland recognizes employees in five year increments. Special recognition was made for Dr. Polly Lackey and Dr. Arch Mayfield who have served Wayland for 40 years. Dr. Lackey serves as Director of Libraries and Professor of Library Science. She earned a bachelor’s degree in 1970 a master’s of library science in 1972 and an Ed.D in 1997, all from the University of Oklahoma.

Dr. Arch Mayfield, Professor of English, came to Wayland in 1973. He holds a bachelor’s degree and master’s degree from Hardin-Simmons University and he earned his Ph.D. from Texas Tech University in 1988.

Dr. Wilburn Lackey was recognized for 35 years of service, and Kathy Burton, Tom Ray and Emmitt Tipton were each recognized for 30 years of service. Tipton and Mayfield will retire at the end of the school year.

Each year Wayland nominates one faculty member as the school’s representative for the Piper Professor Award, a statewide award that seeks to recognize those professors who excel in the classroom and show dedication to their profession. Dr. Carolyn Ratcliffe, Professor of Religion, was named Wayland’s Piper Award nominee for 2013.

The WBU Alumni Association handed out awards to recognize one external campus staff members, one Plainview staff members and a faculty member for their work. Steve Million was recognized as external campus staffer of the year for his work with the campus in Anchorage. Million serves as the Facilities Maintenance Manager and has been instrumental in securing additional funds for the university.

Lena Morphis, Coordinator of Accounts Payable, was received the staff award from the Alumni Association for her exemplary work with the business office. Morphis’ work has not gone unnoticed across campus as she also received the Staff Excellence Award. Morphis has been with the business office for 22 years.

Dr. Niler Pyeatt, Professor of History, was named Faculty Member of the Year by the Alumni Association.

The University Staff Awards were presented next with Cynthia Trevino being recognized with the University Service Award. Trevino is the executive assistant for Wayland’s Executive Vice President and Provost Dr. Bobby Hall. Mariana Rodriguez, an evaluator in the Office of BAS/BCM, received the Community Service Award for her involvement in the community. Director of Admissions Debbie Stennett was recognized with the Campus/Student Involvement Award and Morphis received the Excellence Award.

The Wayland faculty then recognized their award winners as Dr. Perry Collins received the University Service Award. Dr. Collins serves as Professor of Counseling and Psychology as well as Coordinator of the Masters of Arts in Counseling program. Dr. Cindy McClenagan, Dean of the School of Languages and Literature, received the faculty Community Service Award. The Scholarship Award was given to Dr. Jeff Anderson, Professor of Religion at the Albuquerque campus. Dr. Anderson recently returned from a sabbatical at which time he completed work on a manuscript that has been submitted for publication. His book, The Blessing and The Curse: Trajectories in the Theology of the Old Testament, should be published by the spring of 2014. Dr. Mayfield, Professor of English, received the Contribution to the Profession award for his work in the classroom and in publishing several articles.

Receiving Service Award pins were:
Five-Year Awards Plainview Campus: Sasanka Abeysinghe, Daniel Brown, Leslie Burson, Lonnie Burton, Jessica Faucett, Richard Fountain, Herbert Grover, Linda Grover, Erika Hatla, Dena Holloway, Dr. Cynthia Holubik, Dr. Brent Lynn, Deb Melcher, Andrew Novak, Amy Rendon, Mariana Rodriguez, Randee Sepeda, Amber Smith, Linda Gail Walker, Nicole Williams and Dr. Yahui Zhang.

Five-Year Awards External Campuses: Kay Acuff, Abigail Burkett, Dorothy Diaz, Sharon Godwin, Carolyn Hardin, Sarah Phelps and Susan Richardson of San Antonio; Dr. Robert Boneck and Cassy Neilan of Phoenix; Jennifer Gorski of Sierra Vista; Jacy Lovins of Hawaii; Connie North of Altus; Laci McDermett, Raquel Sena and Kristal Wilson of Lubbock; and Dr. Janet Jones of the virtual campus.

Ten-Year Awards Plainview Campus: Libby Cleveland, Debra Flournoy-Buford; Mark Hilliard, Lisa Kerbo; Jonathan Petty; Paula Sisemore, Dr. Charles Starnes, Dr. Shelly Tapp, Dann Wigner, and Misty Williams.

Ten-Year Awards External Campuses: Stefanie Beard, Beverly Houston, Randolph Smith, Marita Storie and Nancy Stout of San Antonio; Dr. J.B. Boren and Cynthia Perez of Amarillo; James Floyd, Dr. Rich Hendershot and Dr. Gary Mitchell of Clovis; Pat Luckie of Lubbock; Dr. Tod Outlaw and Dr. Brent Schlittenhart of Hawaii; Tom Wilmeth and Dave Wilson of Phoenix; Dr. Peggy Wilson of Albuquerque; and Dr. Richard Boyer with the virtual campus.

Fifteen-Year Awards: Dr. Elise Adamson, Amanda Stanton and Cynthia Trevino of Plainview; Dr. David Bishop of Lubbock; Dr. Timothy Fosnaugh of Wichita Falls; Debra Funk of Phoenix and Aileen Nonaka of Hawaii.

Twenty-Year Awards: Dr. Cindy McClenagan of Plainview.

Twenty-Five-Year Award: Dr. Jim Todd of Plainview.

Thirty-Year Awards: Kathy Burton, Tom Ray and Emmitt Tipton of Plainview

Thirty-Five-Year Awards: Dr. Wilburn Lackey of Plainview

Forty-Year Awards: Dr. Polly Lackey and Dr. Arch Mayfield of Plainview.