Wayland seeks nominations for Women in Business award

March 20, 2012

PLAINVIEW – Wayland Baptist University’s Students in Free Enterprise team is seeking nominations for the Seventh Annual Women in Business Awards, to be presented April 19 on the WBU campus.

The first two years of the awards were chosen from nominations from the Wayland faculty and staff, but for the past few years event organizers have broadened the scope to allow community members to nominate deserving women. The goal is to recognize women who have made their mark on the community business world by their service and accomplishments.

Deadline to make nominations is April 2. Nominees may be from the Plainview area. Nominations should include the woman’s business affiliation and involvement, along with her contact information. A brief essay should accompany the nomination listing any major accomplishments, awards and impact on the community as a whole. Those nominating should also include their own name and contact information.

Nominees will be forwarded to SIFE’s Business Advisory Board, compiled of community businesspersons, and narrowed to three honorees. Past winners of the Women in Business Awards have included Jan Alford, Sandra Aven, Carolyn Baker, Tiffany Barnes, Lena Faye Hill, Nancy Kernell, Nicki Bruce Logan, Jennifer Marley, Evalene McDonald, Jeanie Pennell, Dr. Ruth Rector-Wright, Mary Anna Self, Kim Street, Peggy Wall and Nell Williams.

If you are interested in making a nomination or attending the banquet, please contact the School of Business by email to laned@wbu.edu or 806-291-1020. You mail your nomination to Wayland SIFE team, 1900 W. 7th, CMB 252, Plainview, Texas 79072. For more information, contact SIFE sponsor Sam Van Hoose at 291-1029 or Debbie Lane at 291-1020.