WBU recognizes employees

April 23, 2012

PLAINVIEW – Wayland Baptist University held its annual awards luncheon on Monday in the Pete and Nelda Laney Student Activities Center. The luncheon provides a forum for the university to recognize its employees for years of service as well as present special faculty and staff awards.

On Monday, many employees received 5, 10, 15, 20, 25 and 30-year pins for service to the university. Wayland President Dr. Paul Armes handed out the awards, culminating in the recognition of Dr. Candace Keller’s 35 years of service to the university. Dr. Keller, professor of art, joined the faculty in 1977. She also serves as the curator for the Llano Estacado Museum and Abraham Art Gallery.

Dr. Scott Franklin was recognized as Wayland’s nominee for the Piper Professor Award. The statewide award recognizes outstanding teachers at the collegiate level. Nominations are submitted by two and four-year colleges throughout the state of Texas, and 10 eventual winners will receive a $5,000 award. Dr. Franklin holds faculty status in the School of Mathematics and Sciences and currently serves as director of the virtual campus.

Alumni awards were presented to both faculty and staff for exemplary service to the university. University Registrar Julie Bowen has been at Wayland for 13 years, and Robert Black is retiring from the School of Music after 12 years in the classroom. Director of Alumni Development Danny Andrews also recognized Beth Durbin at Wayland’s Fairbanks campus for her contributions.

The staff award for University Service went to Carol Gamboa for her work in the Office of Human Resources. Annette Coon was recognized for her service in various community organizations, and Deb Melcher received both the Campus/Student Involvement Award and the Excellence Award for her work with students and in the University Store.

The Faculty University Service Award went to Christa Smith who is retiring after 43 years in the classroom. Dr. Gary Belshaw received the Community Service Award for his work with various musical entities in the area. Dr. Otto B. Schacht, Dean of the School of Business, received the Scholarship Award for his work in leading the School of Business as well as designing curriculum for a new doctoral program that Wayland hopes to offer in the future. Dr. Ann Stutes won the Contribution to Profession Award for her work with the School of Music.

Black and Smith were also recognized among those retiring at the end of the school year, along with Dr. Gary Manning, who is retiring from the School of Religion and Philosophy after 30 years and Jean Hart who worked in the Registrar’s Office.

Dr. Dean Daniel, Dr. Diane Frazor, Dr. Keri James, Dr. Sandra Mosteller, Dr. Shelley Tapp and Dr. Joselyn Thompson were recognized for receiving promotions from Associate Professor to Professor. Dr. Cassie Collins was promoted from Assistant Professor to Associate Professor.

Dr. Armes also recognized Smith and Dr. Glenn Saul for receiving emeritus professor status.

Receiving University Service Awards were:

Five-Year Award: LeAndra Amaya, Plainview; Sarah Artho, Amarillo; Eric Ash, Anchorage; Curtis Beeman, Plainview; Liza Bell, San Antonio; Victor Berrelez, Phoenix; Tim Brady, Sierra Vista; Kimberly Brown, Plainview; Mark Bryan, Plainview; Tory Bryant, Plainview; Carol Lee Clayton, Anchorage; Annette Coon, Plainview; Randy Craig, Plainview; Ben Craver, San Antonio; Karen Dempster, Fairbanks; Sheila Diggs, Lubbock; Jenni Elliott, Wichita Falls; Jenna Fitzgerald, Plainview; Stephen Furlich, Plainview; Jim Giacomazzi, Plainview; Gary Gray, Plainview; Penny Hall, Albuquerque; Nichel Hilman, San Antonio; Janie Keller, Plainview; Estelle Keys, Plainview; Pam Lloyd, Plainview; Sandra Nixon, Plainview; Jordan Parker, Plainview; Shiloh Posey, Plainview; Shay Preyer, San Antonio; Karen Quebe, Plainview; Kevin Romberg, Plainview; David Schmidt, Plainview; Trena Segovia, Plainview; Richard Shaw, Plainview; David Splawn, Plainview; Deanna Spruce, San Antonio; Chris Styne, Plainview; Rohan Thompson, Plainview; Christopher Truitt, Lubbock; Joseph Vandiver, Plainview; Maureen Watkins, Plainview; Leann Wigner, Plainview; Bronwen Wild, Albuquerque.

Ten-Year Award: James Antenen, San Antonio; Bill Ballard, Lubbock; Debra Burgess, Plainview; Barbara Carr, Plainview; Leah Cole Plainview/Clovis; Wendi Dunlap, Wichita Falls; Scott Franklin, Plainview; Carol Gamboa, Plainview; Brenda Gonzalez, Plainview; Brenda Gonzalez, Plainview; June Hogue, Lubbock; Debbie Lane, Plainview; Constance Luque, Anchorage; Joshua Mora, Plainview; Robert Morris, Sierra Vista; Jerry Price, San Antonio; Henrique Regina, Hawaii; Wally Smith, Fairbanks; David Unfred, Lubbock; Sammy Van Hoose, Plainview; James Waller, Anchorage, Tim Walsh, Plainview.

Fifteen-Year Award: Debra Daniels, Phoenix; Stan DeMerritt, Plainview; Patty Landeros, Plainview; Anthony Strange, Fairbanks; Micheal Summers, Plainview; Michael Zimmerman, Anchorage.

Twenty-year Award: Glyndle Feagin, Plainview; Tom Hall, Plainview; Scott Herrington, Plainview; Nyler Pyeatt, Plainview.

Twenty-Five-Year Award: Geoff Wells, Plainview.

Thirty-Year Award: Bobby Hall, Plainview; Gary Manning, Plainview.

Thirty-Five-Year Award: Candace Keller, Plainview.