Wayland honors employees for service milestones, achievements 

April 30, 2010

PLAINVIEW – Wayland Baptist University honored its employees for service milestones to the university and for special accomplishments at the annual faculty and staff awards luncheon held Friday in the Laney Activities Center.

Honors for faculty and staff members, selected by their peers, were presented for service excellence as well as community service and academic scholarship. Faculty awards were presented to the following: Dr. Rick Shaw, assistant professor of religion and director of the Wayland Mission Center and Kenya Campus, for University Service; Debra Lavender-Bratcher, associate professor of sociology, for Community Service; Dr. Gary Manning, professor of religion, for Scholarship; and Dr. Shelley Tapp, associate professor of management and associate dean of the School of Business, for Contribution to Profession.

Staff awards were presented to the following: Carolyn Andrews, assistant in the Office of the President, for University Service; Annette Coon, assistant to the School of Languages and Literature, for Community Service; Danny Andrews, director of alumni development, for Campus and Student Involvement; and Debbie Price, assistant in the School of Education, for the Excellence Award.

Danny Andrews presented staff and faculty awards from the Association of Former Students, honoring Henrique Regina, assistant dean from the Hawaii campus;  Dr. Polly Lackey, director of libraries and professor of library science; and Cynthia Trevino, assistant to executive vice president and provost Dr. Bobby Hall.

President Dr. Paul Armes presented awards for those reaching year milestones in employment, with honorees ranging from five years of service to one spanning three decades. Pat Buchanan, associate professor of exercise and sport science, was awarded a special plaque and pin commemorating 30 years of service to Wayland, while Brenda Bass, a longtime employee in the external campus records office, was noted for 25 years of service. Twenty-year awards went to Dr. Lloyd Cannedy of the Wichita Falls campus and Plainview campus employees Dr. Greg Feris, athletic director and professor of physical education and recreation; Steve Long, assistant professor of communication and media studies; Dr. Paul Sadler, dean of the School of Religion and Philosophy and Professor of Religion; and Sheila Wood, coordinator of student financial accounts.

Additional service milestones were reached by the following individuals, listed by campus.

Fifteen years: Brad Bass, Tommie Flick, Dr. David Howle, Timothy Kelley, Dr. Steven Michael, Penny Poole and Bertha Sistrunk, all of Plainview; Dr. Willy Achebe and Pamela Lewis, San Antonio; and Dr. Joseph Pineau, Wichita Falls.

Ten years: Jesse Cantu, Jr., Clovis, N.M.; Dr. Jeff Barnes, Hawaii; Joe Marnell and Thomas Walker, Lubbock; Dr. Glenn Simmons, Phoenix; Dr. Gary Belshaw, Robert Black, Venita Butler, Jimmy Fikes, Dr. Scott Franklin, Josie Garcia, Brenda Gonzalez, Clorene McDonald, Charlotte Schumacher, Nancy Simpson and Teresa Young, all of Plainview; Patricia Guerra, Marilyn Layne, Dr. Lewis Lee and Larry Moseley, all of San Antonio; and Dr. Michael Sewell of Wichita Falls.

Five years: Craig Clayton, Thomas Hinderliter and Darla Waller, Anchorage; Christie Caetano of Hawaii; Rod Davis, Terry Forbes, Dora Garcia, all of Lubbock; Dr. Mary Bradley and Brenda Wilson of Phoenix; Joe Berry, Brett Cox, Dr. JoBeth DeSoto, Dr. Jeff Kensmoe, Carolyn Marr, Jason Pirkey, Priscilla Ramos, Katrina Smith, Beverly Steed, Debbie Stennett, Dr. George Valentine, Wendi Vanlandingham and Dr. Kelly Warren, all of Plainview; Dr. John Hogwood, Claudio Maldonado, Meri Moore and Mary Reyes, all of San Antonio; Stephanie Martin of Sierra Vista; and Joy Crowley, Lori Gable and Angela Mowery of Wichita Falls.