Wayland honors employees at annual awards banquet

Release Date: May 7, 2009    

PLAINVIEW – Wayland Baptist University recognized employees for milestone years of service and honored exceptional workers with peer awards during its annual awards banquet held Wednesday at noon.

Awards for faculty included the University Service Award, presented to Jeff Kensmoe, assistant professor of vocal studies and director of vocal studies and opera/musical theatre; the Contribution to Profession Award, given to Dr. Carolyn Ratcliffe, associate professor of religion; Community Service Award, given to Dr. Charles Starnes, assistant professor of management and economics; and the Scholarship Award, given to Dr. Gary Belshaw, assistant professor of piano pedagogy and university organist.

Christa Smith, longtime associate professor of modern languages and English, received the Maloney Faculty Award, given by a foundation gift from Phoenix campus professor Dr. Mary Maloney. Dr. Candace Keller was also honored as Wayland’s nominee for the national Piper Professor Award honoring classroom mentorship of students.

On the staff side, awards were presented to Deb Melcher, former secretary in the Office of the President, for the University Service; to Webmaster Charlotte Schumacher for Community Service; to Rosa Padilla, admissions representative, for Campus/Student Involvement; and to Vickie Hughes, assistant in the counseling and career services and health services office, for the Excellence Award.

Two faculty members were recognized upon their retirement from Wayland as well. Dr. Vaughn Ross leaves after 15 years as professor of biological sciences, serving for part of that time as dean of the School of Mathematics and Sciences. He is a 1967 WBU graduate and holds a master’s degree from West Texas State University and a doctorate from Kansas State University. He was one of several WBU faculty members to collaborate on the partnership with Kenya Baptist Theological College in 1999, bringing with him years of expertise after serving on the mission field in Africa for many years.

Dr. Patricia Herman retires after her second stint at WBU, serving first from 1990-98 and returning in 2001 as professor of education. She has also served as faculty sponsor for Kappa Delta Pi education honor society for several years. She holds degrees from the University of Toledo and the University of Illinois and previously worked for the Kamehameha schools in Hawaii before coming to Wayland.

The Association of Former Students bestowed three awards during the luncheon, honoring alumni employees who had served with distinction for 10 years or more. Danny Andrews, director of alumni development, presented the external campus award to Randy Eckley, site director in Tucson, Ariz., and the local awards to Brenda Bass, longtime employee in the BSOE/BCM records area, and Dr. Bobby Hall, executive vice president and provost.

Employees were also noted for passing service year milestones. Christa Smith received a plaque for marking 40 years at WBU, while Dr. Estelle Owens, dean of the School of Behavioral and Social Sciences and professor of history, marked 35 years as did Eddie Turner, manager of the University Store. Danny Murphree, director of property management, and Marilyn Edwards, a part-time secretary in the science department, both marked 25 years. Twenty-year awards were presented to Barbara Pitman, administrative assistant at the Lubbock Campus, and to Dr. Marti Runnels, professor of theatre and dean of the School of Fine Arts.

The following also marked milestones at WBU:

Fifteen years: Dr. Peter Bowen, Dr. Vaughn Ross, Dr. Tim Parker, Cathy Ward and Ernesto Cantu.

Ten years: Julie Bowen, Lindsay Burgess, Eddie Campoamor, Dr. Perry Collins, Dr. Hayoung Gim, Cynthia Michlig, Dr. Carolyn Ratcliffe, Dr. Adam Reinhart, Yolanda Rodriguez, Dr. Otto B. Schacht, Amanda Sutterfield, Elijah Austin, Dorothy Hilliard, Bula McGowen, Margaret Reams, and Roy Warrior.

Five years: Ron Appling, Sharon Burks, Dr. Robert Carpenter, Wesley Cox, Dr. Dean Daniel, Hope English, Priscilla Edwards, Sheryl Ensch, Tricia Garza, Kathy Gwyn, Jeannie Hare, Victoria Higa, Dr. Bill Hahn, James Hogue, Linda Hoffman, Dr. Keri James, Dr. Judy Jarratt, Nancy Keith, Marilyn Koelder, Delfina Ramirez, Tami Sanders, Dr. Elane Seebo, Geneva Tipton, Rodney Watson, Dr. Gilbert Werema, Brian Whitlock, Duane Barolet, Guadalupe Cantu, Emma Chai, John Corvino, Juana Cowart, Brian Hirata, Mark Jiminez, Mark Raadt, Charles Sohne, Marita Storie and Thomas Wilmath, Jr.