Wayland honors faculty, staff at annual luncheon

April 30, 2008

PLAINVIEW -- Wayland Baptist University honored members of its own family on Wednesday at its annual Faculty/Staff Awards Luncheon. Employees were recognized for milestone years of service, special recognitions and retirement.

Faculty Awards included the University Service Award for projects benefiting the school, presented to Dr. Perry Collins, associate professor of psychology. Dr. Dick De Lung, professor of criminal justice, received the Community Service Award, and Dr. Estelle Owens, professor of history, received the Scholarship Award and was recognized formally as the official University Historian, an honor bestowed by the Board of Trustees in October 2007.

The Contribution to Profession Award was presented to Dr. Ann Stutes, associate professor of music, and the Piper Professor nominee for WBU was Dr. Joshua Mora, associate professor of Spanish. The Maloney Faculty Award, provided by the Maloney Foundation in honor of an outstanding WBU faculty member, was presented to Dr. Jeff Anderson, professor of religion at the Anchorage campus.
Honors for staff members inc
luded the University Service Award, presented to director of admissions Debbie Stennett; the Community Service Award, presented to director of communications Teresa Young; and the Excellence Award, presented to Estelle Keys, assistant in the business office. The Campus/Student Involvement Award was presented posthumously to Linda Daniel, administrative assistant in the Office of Enrollment Management who died March 21. Her husband Robert accepted the award on her behalf, attending the luncheon with two of their four children.

Danny Andrews, director of alumni development, presented three awards from the Association of Former Students for service to the university. Staff members honored included Sarah Pace, student records clerk and bookstore operator at the Anchorage, Alaska, campus, and Susie Vera, secretary for the alumni office. Brad Bass, coach of the Pioneer Baseball team, was honored with the faculty award.

Milestone service year pins were awarded to many faculty and staff, with special framed certificates for the larger anniversaries. Dr. J. Hoyt Bowers, professor of biological sciences, was recognized for 45 years of service. Logging 35 years were Dr. Polly Lackey, director of libraries, and Dr. Arch Mayfield, professor of English; Dr. Wilburn Lackey, professor of psychology, was presented his pin for 30 years. Twenty-five year pins were presented to Kathy Burton, coordinator of accounts receivable; Tom Ray, associate professor of history; and Emmitt Tipton, dean of students. Dr. Jim Todd, professor of education, was noted for 20 years of service.

Other service awards were presented as follows:

Fifteen years: Dr. Patricia Herman and Dr. Cindy McClenagan, Plainview campus; Dr. Mary Maloney, Phoenix campus; Ten years: Dr. Elise Adamson, Josie Gomez, Amanda Stanton, Dr. Ann Stutes, Cynthia Trevino, Susie Vera, all of the Plainview campus; Dr. David Bishop of Lubbock campus; Debra Daniels and Debra Funk of Phoenix campus; Dr. Timothy Fosnaugh of Wichita Falls campus; and Aileen Nonaka and Dr. Steven Reid of Hawaii campus; Five years: Jennie Baker, Beverly Houston, Rachel Morrel, Connie Outlaw, Randolph Smith, and Nancy Stout, all of the San Antonio campus; Tammra Beals, Dr. Tod Outlaw and Dr. Brent Schlittenhart, all of the Hawaii campus; Dr. J. B. Boren and Cindy Perez of Amarillo campus; Dr. Richard Boyer of the virtual campus; James Floyd, Dr. Rich Hendershot and Dr. Gary Mitchell of Clovis campus; Allena Jordan, Dr. Peggy Morris and Bobby Wright of Albuquerque campus; Pat Luckie of Lubbock campus; David Wilson of Phoenix campus; and Plainview campus employees Libby Cleveland, Debra Flournoy, Donna Hall, Mark Hilliard, Lisa Kerbo, Dr. Suzanne Nesmith, Jonathan Petty, Tina Rodriguez, Jay Sample, Paula Sisemore, Dr. Charles Starnes, Dann Wigner and Misty Williams.

Honored as retiring with the conclusion of the school year were Dr. J. Hoyt Bowers; Dr. Dick De Lung, professor of criminal justice since 1996; and Dr. Gerald Thompson, professor of biology since 1967.