Students honored at annual awards, recognition chapel

Release Date: April 23, 2008

PLAINVIEW – A science guy with a heart for missions and a mariachi singer with a tiara grabbed the top honors Wednesday, April 23, at Wayland Baptist University’s annual awards chapel service.

Amy Rendon, a graduating senior majoring in Spanish, was named Female Citizen of the Year, while Luke Loetscher, a graduating senior majoring in biology and physical science, was named Male Citizen of the Year. The awards represent the highest honors given to students at Wayland, presented to seniors who have exhibited Christian principles, academic excellence and outstanding character and involvement. The pair is the 52nd woman and man to receive the awards.

A native of Midland who transferred to WBU in 2005 from Midland College, Rendon served as Miss Wayland 2007 and is currently a President’s Ambassador. She is active in the Baptist Student Ministries, Alpha Delta Kappa and International Choir. She is the daughter of Diana and Benny Avila.

A native of Cheyenne, Wyo., Loetscher has been active in the American Chemical Society student chapter at WBU, the BSM, the Honors Program and Senate, serving this year as vice president. Loetscher spent his summer doing science research at Wayland and his work led to the second patent application filed by the university. He is a volunteer with Habitat for Humanity and is the son of Don and Kathy Loetscher.

Other major awards presented at the chapel service included the Janis Davis Memorial Scholarship, created to honor the late wife of Dr. Wallace Davis, chancellor emeritus, for her involvement with students and love for the university, and the Patsy Davis Scholarship, named in honor of Davis’ second wife. Julia Morrison of Turkey received the Janis Davis award, while Ashley Beggs of Muleshoe received the Patsy Davis award.

The Division of Religion and Philosophy presented its top awards for the year, honoring Scott Ferguson of Ackerly with the Timothy Award for the top senior ministerial student and Matt Johnston of Alto, N.M., with the Boyd Award for the top junior ministerial student. The Amelia Bishop Award for outstanding female ministerial student was awarded to Sarah Medley, a junior from Rankin. The Owen Leech Award recognizing a commitment to discipleship and evangelism was awarded to Tyler Dipprey of Shallowater.

Other major awards given included the L.C. Wayland Medical Award, presented to Tiffany Thompson, a senior from Saginaw; the Ted Bell Art Award, presented to David Mancilla of Floydada; the Turner Memorial Music Scholarship, presented to Elizabeth Carleo of Irving; the Sanders Mathematics Award, presented to Chris Igo of Whiteface; and the Senator of the Year Award, presented to Luke Loetscher.

The Association of Former Students presented awards for Outstanding Freshman Male and Female Students, honoring Calvin Bass of Plainview and Mary Beth Arnold of Waxahachie. Runners-up were Angela Jackson of Tulia, Staci Murphree of Friona, Jarrod Alford of Ralls and Michael Loppnow of Capetown, South Africa.

Spinning Wheels awards, honoring students who are the most influential in their junior and senior classes, were presented to Tamara Haney of Shallowater, Loetscher and Rendon.

Each academic division presented its awards for outstanding students, honoring those who excel in each major field. Those awards, by division, were as follows:

Division of Business: Accounting, Bonnie Jo Bagwell of Earth; Business Administration, Tina Bettis of Plainview; Economics, Kristine Malone; Finance, Jason Bohnstengel of Plainview; Management, Lee Berend of Graham; Marketing, Kody Bueermann of Tahoka; Management Information Systems, Tiffany Adams of Plainview; International Management, Warrren Yeatman of Zimbabwe.

Division of Education: Elementary Education, Amy Dillon of League City; Middle School, Andrea Morales of Plainview; and High School, Rubi Perez of Plainview.

Division of Exercise and Sports Science: Brent Patton of Plainview and Rae Dawn Rousseau of Tulia.

Division of Fine Arts: Instrumental Music Education, Jared McCarthick of Lovington, N.M.; Instrumental Music, Corey Jones of Rio Rancho, N.M.; Vocal Music Education, Jody Keesee of South Plains; Vocal Music, Alicia Alford of Forney; Church Music, Josh Rumbaugh of Spur; Piano, Rachel Merrill of Lubbock; Organ, Lisa Wiginton of Lubbock; Theatre – Best Actor, Grant Jasper of Argyle; Theatre – Best Actress, Mary Feril of Grand Prairie; Art, Mackenzie Garner of Palmdale, Calif., Michelle Sanders of Fort Worth, and Tim Wilson of Plainview; Mass Communication, Hayley Cox of Plainview.

Division of Languages and Literature: French, Eric Bickel of Plainview; Spanish, Sandra Villalobos of Plainview; and English, Rachel Merrill of Lubbock.

Division of Mathematics and Sciences: Senior Chemistry Award, Lori Pretzer of Glendale, Ariz.; Biology, Tony Ruiz of Hobbs, N.M.; Chemistry, Stephanie Skiles of Nemo; and Mathematics, Roberto Nass Worthington of Chile.

Division of Religion and Philosophy: Religion, Brandon Urlaub of Wickenburg, Ariz.; Religious Education, Katie Trimble of Childress.

Division of Social Sciences: History, Hailey Clark of Lubbock; and Psychology, Amanda Russell of Borger.

Awards honoring students chosen as Who’s Who Among American Colleges and Universities were also presented, with the following recognized: Alicia Alford of Forney, Colby Anderson of Phoenix, Ariz., Jonathan Carey of Hobbs, N.M., Hailey Clark of Lubbock, Amy Dillon of League City, Alanna Dixon of Plainview, Micah Evans of Albuquerque, N.M., Mary Feril of Grand Prairie, Molly Flowers of Amarillo, Brandi French of Texline, Gary Gates of Shallowater, Mary Green of Dumas, Lisa Hamilton of Slaton, Tamara Haney of Shallowater, Grant Jasper of Argyle, Matt Johnston of Alto, N.M., Bethany Lewis of Lubbock, Luke Loetscher of Cheyenne, Wyo., Celeste Louder of Hereford, Rachel Merrill of Lubbock, Stephanie Nelson of Pampa, Caroline Oladipo of Mechanicsville, Va., Victoria Priest of Brighton, Colo., Kristen Raines of Mansfield, Amy Rendon of Midland, Rae Dawn Rousseau of Tulia, Andy Scott of Muleshoe, Lauren Shipman of Magnolia, Daniel Storey of Canyon, Brandon Urlaub of Wickenburg, Ariz., Joy Miller Urlaub of Amarillo, Garrett Wooten of Amarillo, Warren Yeatman of Zimbabwe, Jessica Young, and Gary Zacher of Corpus Christi.

Students who have earned the Pioneer Scholarship for academics each semester at Wayland were also honored. Those include: Alicia Alford, Emily Anderson, Brandon Basham, Kody Bueermann, Rebekah Carlson, Hayley Cox, Amy Dillon, Tyler Dipprey, Scott Ferguson, Jeff Graves, Rebekah Jackson, Jonathan Jimmerson, Amanda King, Celeste Louder, Sarah Medley, Lori Pretzer, Roberto Nass Worthington, Amanda Russell, Victoria Priest, Tiffany Thompson, Katie Trimble, Brandon Urlaub, Garrett Wooten and Jacquelyn Yu.