Plainview residents nab top awards at Wayland's annual awards chapel

PLAINVIEW – Two students who call Plainview home received the top awards given at Wayland Baptist University on Wednesday, April 25, at the annual awards chapel ceremony held in Hutcherson Center.

Elyse Newland, a longtime Plainview resident, and Nick Pruitt, whose family moved to Plainview three years ago, received the Citizenship Awards, given to students who embody Christian principles, academic excellence and outstanding character and involvement.

Newland, the 51st woman to receive the award in WBU history, is the daughter of Lonnie and Darla Newland. A graduate of Plainview High School, Miss Newland transferred to WBU after one semester at another school and played basketball for the Flying Queens for two seasons. She will graduate with a Bachelor of Science degree in mathematics, and has accepted a position as assistant volleyball and basketball coach and math teacher at Dumas High School.

Pruitt, the 51st male recipient of the award, is the son of Mark and Karla Pruitt. A graduate of Mineola High School, he will graduate with a Bachelor of Arts degree in history. A participant in the honors program, Nick wrote his honors thesis on the activity of the Ku Klux Klan in the 1920s in West Texas. He has been involved in Senate while at WBU.

Other major awards presented at the chapel service included the Janis Davis Memorial Scholarship, created to honor the late wife of Dr. Wallace Davis, chancellor emeritus, for her involvement with students and love for the university, and the Patsy Davis Scholarship, named in honor of Davis’ second wife. Jordan Kuss, a sophomore from Lubbock, received the Janis Davis Award, and Lauren Davis, a freshman from Red Oak, received the Patsy Davis Award.

The Division of Religion and Philosophy presented its top awards for the year, honoring Noel Keener of Elkhart, Kan., with the Timothy Award for the top senior ministerial student and Tyler Dipprey of Shallowater with the Boyd Award for the top junior ministerial student. The Amelia Bishop Award for outstanding female ministerial student was awarded to Emily Robinson, a senior from Alpine. The Owen Leech Award recognizing a commitment to discipleship and evangelism was awarded to Brandon Urlaub, a senior from Wickenburg, Ariz.

Other major awards given included the L.C. Wayland Medical Award, presented to Martin Ortega, a senior from Midland; the Ted Bell Art Award, presented to Megan Wimberley, a junior from Weatherford; the Turner Memorial Music Scholarship, presented to Jody Keesee, a senior from South Plains; the Sanders Mathematics Award, presented to Celeste Louder, a junior from Hereford; the Roy C. McClung Award and Scholarship recognizing future educators, presented to Daniel Fitzgerald, a senior from Colorado Springs, Colo.; the Helen Barnhart Reese Award and Scholarship for outstanding student in education, presented to Jordan Kuss; and the Senator of the Year Award, presented to Sarah Kron, a senior from Lockhart.

The Association of Former Students presented awards for Outstanding Freshman Male and Female Students, honoring Alexis Hall of Lockney and Kevin Burrow of Tulia. Runners-up for the award included Chris Igo of Whiteface, Joanna Jernigan of Shamrock, Rachel Morgan of Plainview, Tara Newland of Plainview, and Marcos Subealdea of Plainview.

Each academic division presented awards to its top students, with the following receiving honors: Cody Adams of Plainview, Management Information Systems; Noelia Balderas of Lockney, Spanish; Sarah Barbre of Shallowater, Secondary Education; Jason Bohnstengel of Plainview, Economics; Blake Burrow of Tulia, Physical Education; Stephanie Clements of Plainview, Marketing; Dayna Cline of Cotton Center, Management; Jerod Clopton of O’Donnell, Mathematics; Maureen Coutinho of Comoros Islands, Justice Administration; Hayley Cox of Plainview, Journalism; Scott Ferguson of Lamesa, Religion; Tim Fisher of San Antonio, Theatre; Devin Fitch of Ashland, Ohio, Political Science; Mark Franklin of Plainview, Instrumental Music; and Predenia Grantham of Tulia, English.

Also honored by their academic division were Kelsie Jackson of Spring, Organ; Lisa Jennings of Plainview, Accounting; Jennifer Jones of Artesia, N.M., Chemistry; Erin Luckie of Lubbock, Psychology; Jessica Lynch of White Deer, Vocal Music; Travis McCullough of New Deal, Instrumental Music Education; Rachel Merrill of Lubbock, Piano; Leigha Messer of Amarillo, Biology; Joy Miller of Amarillo, Religious Education; Christy Morgan of Muleshoe, Elementary Education; Amy Moss of Plainview, Vocal Music Education; David O’Brien of Lander, Wyo., Art; Emily Parker of Plainview, Physical Education; Michal Polanowski of Poland, German, International Management; Nick Pruitt of Plainview, History; Sarah Quisenberry of Post, Middle School Education; Heather Robison of Slaton, Speech; Daniel Storey of Canyon, Business Administration; Ryan Thurman of Littlefield, Social Studies; Callie Wheeler of Whitewright, Telecommunications; Garrett Wooten of Amarillo, Church Music; and Sandra Wyatt of Tulia, Finance.

Students were also recognized for being chosen for Who’s Who Among American Colleges and Universities and for remaining Pioneer Scholars, recipients of an institutional scholarship based on incoming test scores and continued academic excellence. Honorees included Cimarron Ainsworth of Amarillo, Who’s Who; Alicia Alford of Forney, Who’s Who; Blake Burrow of Tulia, Who’s Who; Philip Carlson of Sublette, Kan., Pioneer Scholar; Stephanie Clements of Plainview, Who’s Who; Jerod Clopton of O’Donnell, Who’s Who and Pioneer Scholar; Kameron Copass of Van Alstyne, Who’s Who; Maureen Coutinho of Comoros Island, Who’s Who; James Estes of Plainview, Pioneer Scholar; Tim Fisher of San Antonio, Who’s Who; Mark Franklin of Plainview, Who’s Who; Abby Holmes of Hobbs, N.M., Who’s Who and Pioneer Scholar; Staci Hutto of Plainview, Pioneer Scholar; Kelsie Jackson of Spring, Who’s Who; Kris Ann Jennings of Perryton, Who’s Who and Pioneer Scholar; Lisa Jennings of Plainview, Who’s Who and Pioneer Scholar; and Jennifer Jones of Artesia, N.M., Pioneer Scholar.

Also honored were Noel Keener of Elkhart, Kan., Who’s Who and Pioneer Scholar; Jalissa King of Portales, N.M., Pioneer Scholar; Matthew Knobbe of Phoenix, Ariz., Who’s Who; Tiffany Lambert of Hawley, Pioneer Scholar; Erin Luckie of Lubbock, Pioneer Scholar; Matt McCabe of Lubbock, Who’s Who; Leigha Messer of Amarillo, Who’s Who and Pioneer Scholar; Joy Miller of Amarillo, Who’s Who; Elyse Newland of Plainview, Who’s Who; David O’Brien of Lander, Wyo., Who’s Who; Martin Ortega of Midland, Pioneer Scholar; Emily Parker of Plainview, Who’s Who and Pioneer Scholar; Michal Polanowski of Poland, Who’s Who; Nick Pruitt of Plainview, Who’s Who and Pioneer Scholar; Sarah Quisenberry of Post, Pioneer Scholar; Kristen Raines of Mansfield, Who’s Who; Jillian Riemersma of Glendale, Ariz., Who’s Who; Emily Robinson of Alpine, Who’s Who; David Sanders of Plainview, Who’s Who and Pioneer Scholar; Brandie Shaffner of Wichita Falls, Pioneer Scholar; Danny Storey of Canyon, Who’s Who; Leigh Thomas of Las Cruces, N.M., Pioneer Scholar; Ryan Thurman of Littlefield, Who’s Who; Michael Van Buskirk of Raton, N.M., Who’s Who; Callie Wheeler of Whitewright, Who’s Who; Deborah Williams of Artesia, N.M., Who’s Who; Lauren Willson of Idalou, Who’s Who; Garrett Wooten of Amarillo, Who’s Who; and Sandra Wyatt of Tulia, Pioneer Scholar.