Stutes, Runnels to co-chair Fine Arts division at Wayland

PLAINVIEW – For the 2006-07 academic year, Dr. Ann Stutes and Dr. Marti Runnels have been named co-chairs of the Division of Fine Arts at Wayland Baptist University.

In these roles, Stutes and Runnels will share the administrative responsibilities for the large division, which includes music, mass communications, speech, theatre and visual arts. Stutes had served as chair alone for 2005-06.

According to Dr. Bobby Hall, vice president for academic and graduate services, the change comes while trying to even out the workload for one of the largest division on the Plainview campus in terms of student enrollment and participation, faculty and extracurricular involvement.

“The complex nature of the Fine Arts Division and its extensive involvement in both the academic realm and the community made it necessary to provide additional administrative resources,” said Dr. Bobby Hall, Vice President for Academic Services. “Dr. Stutes and Dr. Runnels are both experienced academic administrators and will combine their talents to effectively lead the Fine Arts Division into the next academic year.”

Stutes came to Wayland in 1998 as assistant professor of music, later promoted to associate professor. She teaches music technology and theory, gives lessons on string instruments and taught hand bells for several years. A native of Lubbock, Stutes hold a Bachelor of Music degree from Southwestern University, a master’s degree from Northern Illinois University and her doctorate from Texas Tech University.

Runnels came to Wayland in 1989 as director of theatre, a role he currently holds along with professor of theatre. He teaches most of the theatre courses, including acting, intro to film, intro to mass communication and theatre history. A native of Kansas City, Mo., Runnels holds a Bachelor of Arts degree from William Jewell College, a master’s degree from Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary and a doctorate in fine arts from Texas Tech.

The Division of Fine Arts was formerly two separate divisions, Music and Communication Arts, with two separate chairs. The two were merged in the mid-1990s and share the Harral Memorial Auditorium complex.