Wayland Alums to be Honored for Accomplishments During Homecoming Chapel

PLAINVIEW -- Wayland Baptist University’s Association of Former Students will honor alumni and friends of the university during the annual homecoming chapel by presenting the Distinguished Alumni and Distinguished Benefactor awards. The chapel is set for 11 a.m. on Friday, Feb. 24 in Harral Auditorium.

Honorees include Dr. Jimmie and Dr. Patsy Lake Pylant Monhollon, Joe Lombard, Dr. Lon Chaffin, Allen Carson, chancellor emeritus Dr. Wallace Davis, the Honorable Kent Hance and Delbert McDougal.

Drs. Jimmie and Lake Monhollon, both 1955 Wayland graduates, are the first couple to receive the Distinguished Alumi Award. Jimmie spent 34 years with the Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond, also teaching economics at the University of Richmond. He moved through several positions with the Federal Reserve Bank, eventually becoming chief operating officer for the Fifth Federal Reserve District. He retired in 1995 and took a teaching position at Hardin-Simmons University, then served as dean of the Kelly College of Business from 1997-2001, retiring from education in May 2005.

A native of Plainview, Lake Monhollon worked for several years as a church librarian after her Wayland days then earned her law degree in 1982 from the University of Richmond. She then went into private law practice with son Mike until 1991. In 1997, she and Mike started Reflections Publishing Company and published ten books, six of which Lake wrote herself, dealing primarily with grandmotherly wisdom.

Joe Lombard of Canyon will receive the Distinguished Leadership Alumni Award. A 1975 Wayland graduate, Lombard played for the Pioneer basketball team before graduating with a degree in business and launching his own successful coaching career. He coached for seven years at Nazareth High School before going to Canyon High, where he has coached for the past 21 years, leading the Lady Eagles program to several state championships. Lombard has compiled a 933-86 career record, coached 12 state basketball championships and also coached seven state champion girls’ cross country teams. He has received numerous awards for his coaching over the years.

Dr. Lon Chaffin will receive the Distinguished Service Alumni Award. A 1979 graduate, Chaffin serves as chairman of the department of music at the University of Mary Hardin-Baylor and associate professor of music. Chaffin served in church music ministry for several years before taking his talents into the education realm, working at Southwest Baptist University, Paris Junior College and Temple College before joining the faculty at UMHB in 2000. He has been involved extensively in choral and musical theatre productions at various institutions throughout his career, writing and composing several opera and musical compositions.

Allen Carson, a 1997 Wayland graduate, is receiving the Distinguished Young Alumni Award. A resident of Wolfforth, Carson is market president for Aim Bank and is responsible for establishing a retail branch of the bank in Lubbock. Prior to his current position, Carson spent seven years with the Texas Department of Banking, working first as a commissioned financial examiner and later as a regional review examiner for the San Antonio and Austin regional offices.

Dr. Wallace Davis, who served as Wayland’s president from 1991-2001 and then as chancellor, is one of three recipients of the Distinguished Benefactor Award, along with Kent Hance and Delbert McDougal, as the three top donors to the Pete and Nelda Laney Activities Center. A Baylor University graduate, Davis began his education career teaching in Iowa Park and then in Corpus Christi, moving into the principalship and eventually serving as assistant superintendent for instruction for the Corpus Christi I.S.D. He then served in administration at Corpus Christi State University before coming to Wayland in 1991. He retired in 2002 and now lives in Salado with wife Patsy and continues to be generously benevolent to Wayland.

An attorney with Hance Scarborough Wright in Austin, Kent Hance has served as state senator for Texas as well as U.S. Congressman in the 19th congressional district, defeating current President George W. Bush for the position and the only person to ever do so in a political campaign. He later served on the finance committee for Bush’s campaign and was elected to the Texas Railroad Commission in 1988, serving as chairman. Hance has served on the WBU Board of Trustees as on a committee to raise funds for the Laney Activities Center. He contributes annually to WBU.

Chairman of the Board for McDougal Companies, Delbert McDougal has been an active force in the housing industry in Lubbock for many years. He spent 25 years with General Electric before beginning his own company in 1982. McDougal Companies has been active in several development and improvement efforts in Lubbock, including the North Overton Redevelopment Project which has changed the face of the neighborhood. McDougal has served on the Wayland Board of Trustees and has been instrumental in helping guide the board in real estate matters and in supporting the university.

During the homecoming weekend, receptions have been planned by various academic divisions honoring the graduates from those areas. A reception for the Monhollons and Carson is set for 3 p.m. on Friday, Feb. 24 in the Nunn Business Building, and one for Chaffin is set for 3:30 p.m. that day in the Miller Recital Hall.

The public is welcome to attend the chapel service.