Wayland honors employees at annual awards luncheon

PLAINVIEW – Wayland Baptist University honored several of its employees Friday at the annual Faculty & Staff Awards Luncheon, noting anniversary years, exemplary service and scholarship and retiring employees.

During the western-themed banquet, faculty and staff from the Plainview campus received awards voted on by their peers. Faculty awards included the University Service Award, presented to Dr. Niler Pyeatt, interim chair of the social sciences division and professor of history; the Community Service Award, presented to Joachim Professor of English Christa Smith; the Scholarship Award, presented to Dr. Kevin Sweeney, assistant professor of geography and history; and the Contribution to the Profession Award, presented to Dr. Geoff Wells, professor of political science.

Staff awards included the University Service Award, presented to Julie Bowen, university registrar; Community Service Award, presented to Dean of Students Emmitt Tipton; Campus/Student Involvement Award, presented to Jennifer Beal, director of admissions; and the Excellence Award, presented to database administrator Katrina Smith.

In a special presentation, D. Scott Herrington, professor of music and director of choral activities, received the Maloney Award. The award recognizes a faculty member from throughout the WBU system for academic excellence and leadership, being an example of Christian commitment and making a positive contribution to the lives of students. The honor bears a cash award.

The award was established by Dr. Mary Maloney, associate professor of business at Wayland's campus in Phoenix, Ariz., since 1993, through a foundation she set up in memory of her parents. Maloney spent much of her career at St. John's University in New York, serving in a variety of capacities, notably as vice president of the business school and later as assistant to the president for strategic planning.

Dr. Jeff Tillman, professor of religion and director of graduate studies for the Wichita Falls campus, was honored as the Piper Professor nominee from Wayland, recognizing dedication in teaching and outstanding academic, scientific and scholarly achievement.

Bryan Bishop, vice president of the Association of Former Students, presented Faculty/Staff Alumni Awards to several employees, including Jennie Lynn Hodges, associate professor of music, recipient of the Distinguished Faculty Service Alumni Award. Distinguished Staff Service Alumni Awards were presented to Billie Jean Kimberling, academic advisor and office manager in San Antonio, and Vickie Hughes, secretary in counseling and health services and tutorial services coordinator.

Dr. Paul Armes, president of the university, also presented a special resolution of appreciation from the Board of Trustees to Dr. J. Hoyt Bowers, professor of biology, for his 20-plus years of work with the ASSIST and ASSET programs, summer programs that enhance the skills of science teachers in public and private schools. Specifically, Bowers has done the legwork and paperwork necessary to secure the Teacher Quantity Grants for 20 consecutive years to fund the programs, making Wayland the only university to receive the grant all 20 years of its existence.

Numerous employees received pins for years of service to the university, including Joe Provence, director of alumni services, who received a plaque marking 40 years. Dr. Bill Hardage, executive vice president who died in a plane crash March 25, was honored posthumously for 40 years of service. Dr. Harold Temple, professor of chemistry, and Marilyn Thompson, telephone services manager, received pins for 30 years of service. Noted for 20 years were Dr. Kent Brooks, dean of the Lubbock Campus, and Vickie Hughes.

Also receiving honors were the following: Fifteen Years: Dr. Jeff Anderson of Anchorage, Drilma Handley of Lubbock, Debbie Parker and Tommy Thompson of San Antonio and Plainview employees Sherrie King, Dr. Claude Lusk, Brian McClenagan, and Lena Morphis; Ten Years: Dave Rambow of Anchorage, Dr. Jeff Tillman and Dr. Joselyn Thompson of Wichita Falls and Plainview employees Deborah Lavender-Bratcher, Dr. Dick De Lung, Jean Hart, Virgil Hart, Rosalie Hernandez, Karen LaQuey,  and Brad Snellgrove; Five Years: Roylee Accetta of Albuquerque, Dr. Don Ashley and Monique Holland of Anchorage, Lois Barnes, Dr. Donald Knox and Jodi Underhill of Wichita Falls, Sandra Bell, Dr. Thomas Fisher, Kenneth Cruz Reyes, Emma Slifer and Stefanie Slifer of San Antonio, Randy Eckley of Sierra Vista, Ariz., Rosemary Hendley of Lubbock, and Plainview employees Carolyn Andrews, Dr. Paul Armes, Dr. Joel Boyd, Donnie Brown, Martha Cross, Richard Dillingham, Debbe Fikes, Dr. Linda Hutcherson, Jim Marr, Perri McDonald, Teresa Moore, Dr. Sandra Mosteller, Dr. Ralph Palumbo, Barbara Pauda, Debbie Price, Geoffrey Ritchey, Heather Saldana, Barbara Smith, James Smith, and Dr. Kevin Sweeney.

Retiring employees were honored as well, including Dr. Georgia Flanagan, Dr. Joan Franklin, Dr. Albert Long and Joe Provence. Dr. Georgia Flanagan first came on board at Wayland’s Wichita Falls Campus in 1990 as dean. She returned to the classroom in 2004, teaching education. Flanagan is a graduate of the University of North Texas and taught school before working at the Education Services Office at Sheppard Air Force Base in 1959, eventually becoming Education Services Officer at Sheppard.

Dr. Joan Franklin has served as a professor in business and education at Wayland’s Clovis Campus since 1997. She is a graduate of Texas Woman’s University, holding a degree in human resource management. She received the Maloney Faculty Award in 2004 and has presented numerous times in her field.

Dr. Albert Long has served as Professor of Business at the San Antonio campus since 1995. A retired lieutenant colonel in the U.S. Air Force, Long is a native of Mississippi and a member of Northeast Baptist Church in San Antonio. He holds degrees from Memphis State University, Air Force Institute of Technology and the U.S. International University.

Joe Provence first came to Wayland as a student in 1957, leaving for a few years and returning in 1961 to complete his degree and work in the PR office. Since then, he’s held several positions, including PR director, student activities director and finally alumni services director, a role he held since 1985. Provence plans to remain at WBU part-time handling alumni relations.