Wayland students honored for achievements

PLAINVIEW – A Wayland Baptist University ministerial student and a track athlete were honored Wednesday with the university’s highest student award, Citizen of the Year, during the annual recognition chapel service.

Jennifer Brigman, a senior from Eula, was named Female Citizen of the Year, and Zack Greer, a senior from Athens, was named Male Citizen of the Year. The awards recognize leadership in and out of the classroom, servanthood and commitment to Christian ideals that make both favorites of students, faculty and staff.

A three-year member of the Wayland track team, Brigman is also a former cheerleader. She will earn a Bachelor of Science degree in physical education and business administration on April 30 and plans to continue her education to become a certified personal trainer. The daughter of Roy and Margie Brigman of Eula, Jennifer is also a member of the Christian service sorority Alpha Delta Kappa.

Greer earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in English and Religion in December 2004. During his time at Wayland, he has been involved with the Baptist Student Ministries, serving on the leadership team and as part of the band for Plumbline, the weekly worship service. With an interest in missions, Zack plans to pursue missions in the future. He is the son of James and Dana Greer, missionaries serving in Tanzania, Africa.

Special awards were presented for students in particular fields of study. From the Division of Religion and Philosophy, Kevin Schaub of Pampa received the Timothy Award, presented annually to the ministerial student with the highest grade point average; Adam Wainio of Albuquerque received the Boyd Award for a promising young ministerial student. Dustin Rauch of Carlsbad received the Owen Leech Award and cash prize, honoring students who demonstrate a calling and commitment to discipleship and evangelism. Lucy Runner Thompson of American Falls, Idaho, was presented the Amelia Bishop Award for an outstanding female ministerial student.

The Division of Math and Sciences was represented by several special awards, including the L.C. Wayland Medical Award, presented to a student pursuing graduate education in the medical field. J.T. Everett of Lafayette, Colo. received the award for 2005. The Sanders Memorial Math Award and scholarship was presented to Jessica Haill Faucett of Tijeras, N.M. Micah Garvey of Anna received the American Chemical Society award.

Other special division awards included the Turner Memorial Music Scholarship, presented to Jody Keesee of Plainview; the Helen Barnhart Reese award and scholarship for education students, presented to JaLissa King of Portales, N.M.; the Christa Smith Endowed Scholarship and award, presented to Luciana Barror of Seminole. Also presented are scholarships honoring service and character, including the Patsy Davis Scholarship, presented to Lisa Jennings of Plainview, the Janis Davis Scholarship, presented to LaVoris Buckner of Wichita Falls, and the Roy C. McClung Award and scholarship, presented to Laci Rousseau of Tulia. The student Senate honored Paul Hamilton of Lubbock as Senator of the Year.

Other awards were presented for students considered outstanding in their field of study; leadership awards for the top 20 juniors and seniors, called Spinning Wheels;  recognition of Pioneer Scholars; and Who’s Who Among Students in American Colleges and Universities honorees. Those awards are as follows:

Taylor Allen of Littlefield, Who’s Who; Kayla Andersen of Portales, N.M., Outstanding Student in Accounting award; Bryan Anderson of Anchorage, Alaska, Who’s Who, Management award; Shawn Anglin of Borger, Who’s Who; Noelia Balderas of Lockney, Spanish award; Billy Boone of Abilene, Who’s Who, Theatre award, Pioneer Scholar; Nate Bridges of Levelland, Who’s Who, Spinning Wheel;  Jennifer Brigman of Eula, physical education award; Curtis Broome of Estes Park, Colo., Who’s Who, Instrumental Music award; Erika Bryant of Plainview, Pioneer Scholar; Kyle Bueermann of Tahoka, Who’s Who, Pioneer Scholar; Michelle Ackerman Bueermann of Springer, N.M., Who’s Who; Jacob Burke of Amarillo, Psychology award, Pioneer Scholar; Brandon Burrows of Amarillo, Who’s Who, religious education award, Pioneer Scholar; Nathan Carson of Sweetwater, Who’s Who, Spinning Wheel, Pioneer Scholar; April Jackson Chancler of Canadian, Who’s Who, Composite Science award; Bethany Chollar of San Antonio, Who’s Who; Laura Conrad of Albuquerque, journalism award.

Also honored were Daniel Coutinho of Moroni, Comoros, Spinning Wheel; Josh Davis of Bledsoe, Speech award; Kelley Dunn of Bledsoe, Pioneer Scholar; Heath Ferguson of Ackerly, Pioneer Scholar; Micah Garvey of Anna, Who’s Who; Adam Gibbs of Canyon, Pioneer Scholar; Sara Gowman of Plainview, Pioneer Scholar; Jason Graves of Plainview, Spinning Wheel; Zack Greer, Spinning Wheel; Eddie Guidry of Shallowater, history award; Bridget Beutler Hancock of Booker, Who’s Who, vocal music education award; Justin Hancock of Haslett, church music award, Pioneer Scholar; Daniel Hayden of Fort Worth, Who’s Who, Spinning Wheel, marketing award; Cassandra Hill of Smyer, Who’s Who, biology award, Pioneer Scholar; Kaci Holcomb of Roswell, N.M., social studies composite award, Pioneer Scholar; Crystal Holloway of Uvalde, Spinning Wheel, Pioneer Scholar; Kelli Howard of Midland, Who’s Who, middle school education award; Heather Hurt of Irving, Pioneer Scholar; Alpha Jennings of Plainview, Spinning Wheel; Eric Kaiser of Artesia, N.M., Spinning Wheel; Whitney Lafferty of Cameron, Criminal Justice award; Candice Lasiter of Roswell, N.M., instrumental music education, Who’s Who; Aaron Ledbetter of Ballinger, Who’s Who; Lara Manley of Plainview, Who’s Who; Meg Mansdoerfer of Albuquerque, Pioneer Scholar; Sean McVey of Clayton, N.M., Who’s Who, Pioneer Scholar; Angela Miller of Lubbock, management information systems award; Melissa Milner of Lander, Wyo., early childhood education award, Who’s Who; Cheryl Mogg of Plainview, health care administration award; Jason Morgan of Plainview, finance award, Pioneer Scholar; Amy Moss of Plainview, Who’s Who, Pioneer Scholar; Joel O’Hair of Lubbock, mathematics award; Rosa Padilla of Hale Center, International Management; Joe Parsons of Amarillo, political science award; Kathryn Pearce of Sublette, Kan., chemistry award; Lacy Phillips of Lockney, agribusiness award; Byron Potter of Dalhart, Who’s Who; Laci Rousseau of Tulia, Who’s Who, Spinning Wheel; Lissabeth Rusten of Borger, Who’s Who, Ted Bell Art Award; Kevin Schaub of Pampa, Who’s Who, Pioneer Scholar; Sarah Scott, Vocal Music Award; Stephanie Shaw of Plainview, Who’s Who; Douglas Shelton of Albuquerque, Who’s Who, Pioneer Scholar; Ariel Smeaton of Amarillo, Who’s Who; Deborah Smith of Petersburg, middle school education award; Ragan Spradling of Amarillo, Who’s Who, business administration award, Pioneer Scholar; Paul Sutton of Abernathy, telecommunications award; Lucy Thompson of American Falls, Idaho, English award, Pioneer Scholar; Tyler Topper of Plainview, Who’s Who, Economics award, Pioneer Scholar; Billie Turner of El Paso, secondary education award; Marta Turpin of Carrizo Springs, Who’s Who, German award; Richard Varnon of Spearman, Who’s Who, Pioneer Scholar; Melanie Wieland of Plainview, human services award; Leann Wigner of Jal, N.M., religion award; and Russ Wilson of Coleman, all-level education award.

The Association of Former Students also presented awards to the outstanding freshman male and female for 2004-05. Alanna Dixon of Plainview and Warren Yeatman of New Zealand received those honors. Runners-up included Alicia Alford of Forney, J.J. Brumley of Plainview, Ted Davis of League City, Jacob Flick of Kress, Kris Hatley of Midland, Cimarron McClure of Canyon, Joy Miller of Amarillo, Victoria Priest of Thornton, Colo., and Evan Winegarner of Darrouzett.