Wayland honors faculty, staff during luncheon

PLAINVIEW -- Wayland Baptist University celebrated a successful year with its employees during the annual Faculty and Staff Awards Luncheon, held Friday. The luncheon honors employees earning service anniversary awards as well as those voted by their peers for special recognition.

Faculty members were honored by their peers in four areas. Dr. Cindy McClenagan, associate professor of English, received the University Service award for service on committees, special projects and commitment. Dr. Yvonne LaMar, assistant professor of education, received the Community Service Award for her work in the Plainview community and beyond. Dr. Moumin Quazi, in his first year as associate professor of English and Joachim Chair in English, received the Contribution to Profession Award for participation in academic activities related to literature. Dr. Carolyn Ratcliffe, assistant professor of religion, received the Scholarship Award for her academic work.

Staff members also honored fellow employees for service to Wayland and beyond. Brenda Bass, auditor in the External Records office, received the University Service Award for her contributions. Teresa Young, director of communications, was presented with the Community Service Award for her involvement in Plainview service groups. Priscilla Edwards, a recruiter in the admissions office, received the Campus/Student Involvement Award for her work with international students. Josie Gomez, school nurse, received the Excellence Award.

The Association of Former Students presented several awards for distinguished service, including two to faculty members Tom Ray, associate professor of history, and Dr. Jeff Anderson, professor of religion and dean of the Anchorage, Alaska, campus. The association also honored Sheila Wood, coordinator of student financial accounts, with the staff award, and presented the Distinguished Lifetime Service Award to Dr. Don Cook, emeritus professor of English who retired in 2004 after 40 years at Wayland.

Also honored were faculty and staff members who completed anniversary years at Wayland, who were presented with pins and certificates. Donna Wiley and Pat Buchanan were honored for 25 years, while Brenda Bass and Dr. Fred Meeks were lauded for 20 years of service. Receiving pins for 15 years of service were Dr. Lloyd Cannedy and Dr. Georgia Flanagan, both of the Wichita Falls campus, Dr. Greg Feris, Steve Long, Dr. Paul Sadler and Sheila Wood.

Ten-year pins were presented to Dr. Chukuma Achebe, Pamela Lewis, Dr. Albert Long, Linda Muth and Hortencia Thompson, all of the San Antonio campus; Dr. Joseph Pineau of Wichita Falls campus; Marcia Million of the Anchorage campus; and Plainview employees Brad Bass, Tommie Flick, Dr. David Howle, Tim Kelley, Dr. Steven Michael, Penny Poole and Bertha Sistrunk.

The following individuals were honored for five years of service: Dr. Jeffrey Barnes of Sierra Vista campus; Jesse Cantu, Jr. of Clovis campus; Dr. John Bruce Copeland III and Trish Ward, both of Fairbanks campus; Dr. Jimmy Givens, Roma Haley, Joseph Marnell, Rasena Seagraves and Thomas Walker, all of the Lubbock campus; Marilyn Layne, Dr. Lewis Lee, Ben Moseley, Joyce Price and Patricia Tovar, all of San Antonio campus; Dr. Michael Sewell of Wichita Falls campus; Dr. Glenn Simmons of Phoenix campus; and Plainview employees Russell Almon, Dr. Gary Belshaw, Robert Black, Venita Butler, Jimmy Fikes, Dr. Scott Franklin, Josie Garcia, Brenda Gonzalez, Victor Heredia, Kevin Leggett, Clorene McDonald, Dr. Joshua Mora, Charlotte Schumacher, Nancy Simpson, Gay Snider and Teresa Young.

Amelia Cline, who has served as director of the Lifelong Learning Center, was honored upon her retirement this June. Cline has worked at Wayland since 1983, coming first as a secretary and administrative assistant before taking her current position.