Wayland presents honors recital

PLAINVIEW - The Department of Music at Wayland Baptist University will present and honors recital featuring the winners of last spring's Music Achievement Awards. The recital will take place at 7:30 p.m. on Monday in Harral Memorial Auditorium. Admission is free and the event is open to the public.             

The Department of Music held its annual Music Achievement Awards competition on March 25 in which students compete for awards recognizing them as outstanding scholar musicians. The awards are the highest honors granted annually by the department.

This year's recital will feature Megan Roberts, a third-year percussionist from Clarendon; Curtis Broome, a fourth-year percussionist from Lyons, Colo.; and Candice Lassiter, a fifth-year clarinetist from Clovis. The recital will include the runners-up from the Achievement Awards competition. They are: Abby Holmes, a second-year vocalist from Hobbs, N.M.; Mark Franklin, a third-year euphonium player fro Plainview; Amy Grisham, a fourth-year vocalist from Plainview; and James Moss, a fifth-year trombonist from Tahoka.