Dr. Joan E. Franklin receives faculty award

PLAINVIEW - Wayland Baptist University President Dr. Paul Armes presented Dr. Joan E. Franklin with the Maloney Faculty Award during the Heritage Chapel Service at Wayland on Wednesday. Dr. Franklin is an assistant professor of business and education at the Wayland campus in Clovis.

In a prepared statement, Dr. Armes said the Maloney award is given to a Wayland faculty member who "exhibits outstanding qualities in academic excellence and leadership, who is an example of Christian commitment and dedication, and who makes positive contributions to the lives of Wayland students."

Dr. Franklin joined the Wayland faculty in 1997. She is a graduate of Texas Woman's University with a Ph.D. in human resource management and adult education, and a master's of education in counseling and guidance.

Dr. Franklin's career in education began in 1964 in the Coppell public school system where she was named Teacher of the Year in 1981. She has since received awards and honors both nationally and internationally. She has worked as a research assistant at Texas Woman's University and has taught at Chapman University and Eastern New Mexico University.

Dr. Carol Green, dean of the WBU Clovis campus, nominated Dr. Franklin for the award, saying in a letter that Dr. Franklin, "takes an interest in her students' personal and professional lives. She is aware of the challenges they face and is proud of her ability to be a Christian witness and mentor," and "she consistently displays professionalism and integrity in her duties at Wayland."

The Maloney Award was established by Dr. Mary Maloney, a business professor at the WBU Phoenix campus, in honor of her parents. Previous award recipients are Dr. Jeff Tillman, a religion professor at the Wichita Falls campus, and Dr. Ann Stutes, chair of the music department in Plainview.