Wayland honors employees at faculty/staff banquet

Wayland Baptist University honored its own on May 3 at the annual Faculty/Staff Awards Banquet. The event is a traditional time to present service and excellence awards and to recognize service anniversaries on the campus.

Outstanding faculty awards presented included the following: University Service Award, Dr. Geoff Wells, professor of political science; Community Service Award, Christa Smith, associate professor of modern languages and English; Contribution to Profession Award, Dr. Don Cook, professor of English; and Scholarship Award, Dr. Perry Collins, assistant professor of psychology.

Outstanding staff awards presented included the following: University Service Award, Cynthia Trevino, assistant to the vice chancellor; Community Service Award, Teresa Young, director of communications; Campus/Student Involvement Award, Bertha Sistrunk, coordinator of cashiering/student accounts; and Excellence Award, Amanda Ward, database administrator.

The Association of Former Students also honored four employees for distinguished service. Dr. Kent Brooks, dean of the Lubbock campus and professor of career and technology education, received the Distinguished Faculty Alumni Award, along with Brian McClenagan, counselor, and Dr. Geoff Wells. Dr. Charles Bassett, vice president emeritus and longtime employee, received the Distinguished Lifetime Service Alumni Award.

Cook was also recognized for being the university's nominee for the Minnie Stevens Piper award. Retiring employees were also recognized, including Dr. Philip C. Almes, professor of mathematics; Mark Anthony Pair, associate professor of music; and Dr. Wallace E. Davis, chancellor.

Jennifer Beal, student body president, presented awards from the Student Government Association. Dr. Bobby Hall, associate professor of business, received the SGA Faculty Award, while Dr. Glenn Saul, vice president for academic and graduate services, received the SGA Staff Award.

Employee service awards were presented to those marking anniversaries of employment. Dr. Gerald Thompson, professor of science, was honored for 35 years of service. Dr. Candace Keller, associate professor of art, was honored for 25 years. Twenty-year honorees included Dr. Bobby Hall; Jennie Lynn Hodges, associate professor of music; Dr. Gary Manning, professor of religion; and Freda Provence, assistant to the Chancellor. Receiving pins for 15 years of service were Dr. Virginia Harris, professor of education; Dr. Carl Moman, professor of music; and Dr. Geoff Wells, professor of political science.

Honorees with 10 years included: Dr. Glyndle Feagin, Dr. Scott Herrington, Brian McClenagan, Virginia Myers, Vernon Norris and Dr. Niler Pyeatt. Five-year honorees were Delores Bevill, Stan DeMerritt, Dr. Kenneth Johnson, Dr. Linda Kennedy, Patty Landeros, Elvia Montez, Dr. Glenn Saul, Micheal Summers and Shawn Thomas.