Wayland honors students with achievement awards

Several students from Wayland Baptist University received honors during the May 8 recognition chapel on the Plainview campus.

Graduating seniors Jennifer Beal and Brian Street received the prestigious Citizenship Awards. Honorees for the award are chosen for Christian attitude, acceptable academic record, diversity of interests, loyalty to American ideals, personal integrity and the exemplification of the Wayland spirit.

"They exhibit a servant's heart and their commitment to Christian ideals have made them a favorite of faculty, staff and students," said Dr. Paul Armes, WBU president, upon presenting the awards.

Both Beal and Street affixed nameplates to the perpetual plaque hanging in the foyer of the Gates Hall administration building after the chapel ceremony. Beal is the daughter of Ned and Judy Wharff of Hobbs, N.M. Since coming to Wayland in 1998, she has been involved in Student Foundation, cheerleading, Zeta Zeta Zeta, and student government, serving this past year as student body president. She was also honored this year as the Outstanding Student in English and Speech, was named to Who's Who Among American Colleges and Universities and received the honor of Spinning Wheel from the student body. She will receive a bachelor's degree in English and speech.

Street has been active in Kappa Chi, Student Union Board, Baptist Student Ministries, Koinonia leadership and the summer Rec Teams. He has served as a residence assistant in Caprock Complex and will earn a bachelor's degree in history and English. He is the son of Linda Street of Andrews.

During the recognition service, two new endowed scholarship awards were presented to the first recipients. The Millie Bishop Award, recognizing an outstanding female ministry student, was presented to Rebecca Matthews, a senior from Albany, Ore. The award is named in honor of Bishop, who has been active for many years in missions and ministry work and served as state WMU president in the 1980s.

The family of the late Cecil and Kathleen Turner were on hand to help honor the first recipient of an endowed scholarship in their name for a music student. Braxton Edwards, a junior from Bushland, received the award. The Turners' children and many of their grandchildren attended Wayland, and three grandchildren are current students.

Other special awards presented included the Sanders Math Award, presented to sophomore Trae Blain of Hereford; the Timothy Award, presented to the senior ministerial student with the highest GPA, awarded to Trevor Bulls of Boise City, Okla.; L.C. Wayland Medical Award, presented to students pursuing a career in some facet of medicine, awarded to Darci Cozart of Lamesa and Noelia Salas Quezada of Petersburg; the Roy C. McClung Award, presented to a future educator, awarded to Sara Humberstone of Edgewood, N.M.; the Wall Street Journal Award for business, presented to Sanna Jackson; the Patsy Davis Scholarship award, presented to Claire Lotter of South Africa; the Helen Barnhart Reese Award for an education student, presented to Melissa O'Brien of Lander, Wyo.; the Janis Davis Award for leadership and participation in student life, presented to Miranda Turner of Tulia; the Ted Bell Memorial Art Award, presented to Julian Vasquez of Plainview; and the Boyd Award, presented to the outstanding junior ministerial student, awarded to Daniel Wigner of Lubbock.

The Association of Former Students recognized a male and female for Freshman of the Year, an award which honors attitude, academics, participation and appearance. April Jackson of Olton and Jeff Branch of Altus, Okla. received this year's award. Runners-up were Billy Boone, Jennifer Brigman, Kyle Bueermann, Jeremy Harris, Samuel Najera, Paige Prince, Kathy Reed and Angela Wilson.

The ceremony also featured recognition of Pioneer Scholars, students who maintain the university's special tuition scholarships based on ACT/SAT scores and class ranking; Spinning Wheels, presented to the ten most outstanding campus leaders in the junior and senior classes as nominated and elected by their peers and a special committee; winners of departmental academic achievement awards; and those named to Who's Who Among American Colleges and Universities. Remaining honorees are as follows:

Rachael Ainsworth - Journalism, Who's Who; Joell Beagle - Who's Who, Pioneer Scholar; Sylvia Beanes - Spanish; Levi Blackmon - Who's Who; Ryan Boyd - Chemistry, Mathematics, Who's Who, Pioneer Scholar; Leigh Christensen - Spinning Wheel; Hillary Coombes - Who's Who; Staci Copeland - Biology, Who's Who; Shanna Daniels - Pioneer Scholar; Denise DeLeon - Psychology; Carla Douglas - Who's Who, Spinning Wheel, Pioneer Scholar; Jeremy Douglas - Spinning Wheel; Braxton Edwards - Instrumental Music; Priscilla Edwards - Management/Marketing; John Espinosa - Who's Who; Amy Foote - Physical Education, Who's Who; Alfred Gomez - Who's Who; Angela Hall - Pioneer Scholar; Jared Hardy - Who's Who, Pioneer Scholar; Jodi Henderson - Composite Science, Who's Who, Spinning Wheel, Pioneer Scholar; Sara Henry - Vocal Music, Who's Who, Pioneer Scholar; Jennifer Hernandez - Pioneer Scholar; Michelle Hinze - Who's Who; Emily Hogue - Spinning Wheel; Erica Hogue - Who's Who; Will Husky - Finance, Spinning Wheel; Chad Johnson - Pioneer Scholar; and Samantha Jones - Instrumental Music, Who's Who, Pioneer Scholar.

Also honored were Kalie Krey - Business Administration; Chris Lethgo - Church Music; Mary Loudat - Vocal Music Education, Who's Who; Lindsay Mason - Accounting, Who's Who; Hillary Matteson - Who's Who; Rebecca Matthews - Religious Education; Pam McClement - Spinning Wheel; T.J. Messer - Political Science; Meredith Miller - Secondary Education; Armanda Minjarez - Who's Who; Jessica Mohon - Who's Who, Pioneer Scholar; Cory Norman - Pioneer Scholar; Tammi O'Brien - Who's Who, Pioneer Scholar; Curtis Palmer - Piano, Who's Who; Traci Phipps - Agribusiness; Angie Poff - Who's Who, Pioneer Scholar; Peter Poff - Who's Who, Pioneer Scholar; Noelia Quezada - Who's Who; Steven Quezada - Criminal Justice; Cody Renshaw - Telecommunications; Ryan Ritchey - Art; Morgan Robinson - Who's Who; Rebekah Shepard - French, History, Who's Who, Pioneer Scholar; Michael Smith - Religion, Who's Who, Spinning Wheel; Emily Stewart - Who's Who, Pioneer Scholar; Carilynn Stridde - Who's Who; Jason Thompson - Management/Marketing; Raelene Trudeau - Chemistry; Andrea Turner - Spinning Wheel; Miranda Turner - Spinning Wheel; Christina White, Early Childhood Education, Who's Who, Pioneer Scholar; Patrick Whitfill - Who's Who, Mary Jones Houston Scholar; Courtney Williams - Elementary Education, Who's Who, Pioneer Scholar; and Patricia Ybarra - Pioneer Scholar.