Wayland to graduate 102 in commencement ceremony

Wayland Baptist University. Plainview Campus, will confer degrees on 102 individuals during commencement ceremony scheduled for 2 p.m. May 18, 2002 in Harral Auditorium.

Graduates will process around the campus, led by faculty and administrators in academic regalia, beginning at 1:45 p.m.

Dr. Sylvia Nadler, chair of the physical education department at William Jewell College and a 1971 Wayland graduate, will bring the graduation address. Bryan Bundick, a senior from Odessa, will give the student address.

Also appearing on the program will be Jennifer Beal and Brian Street, senior recipients of the Citizenship Awards; Trevor Bulls, recipient of the Timothy Award; April Langehennig and Hillary Matteson, senior class officers; and Braxton Edwards and Julie Reid, performing a duet.

Chancellor Wallace E. Davis, Jr. will confer the degrees, with help from Delbert McDougal, chairman of Wayland's board of trustees. Dr. Paul Armes, president, will preside over the ceremony.

At 10:30 a.m. that morning, the traditional Torch and Mantle Ceremony will be held in the multipurpose room of the Mabee Learning Resources Center. This event allows graduates to honor a mentor from their years at Wayland as well as hand down the torch of leadership to an underclassman.

Individuals receiving master's degrees include the following: Master of Arts in Religion: Russell Almon of Plainview, Christian Ministries; Master of Arts in Management: Leslie Boyd of Plainview, Human Resource Management; Master of Education: Matt Ammerman of Pampa, Educational Administration; Kevin Brendle of Dickens, Instructional Leadership; Christie Hightower of Plainview, Instructional Technology; Amy Manchee of Lubbock, Instructional Leadership; Liana Sawyer of Plainview, Instructional Leadership; and Lynne Thurman of Bartlesville, Okla., Instructional Technology.

Baccalaureate degrees will be awarded to the following students:

Bachelor of Arts: Angela Allen of Plainview, Art; Jennifer Beal of Hobbs, NM, English; Trevor Bulls of Boise City, Okla., Religion; Bryan Bundick of Odessa, psychology; Richard Campbell of Kress, Criminal Justice; Leigh Christensen of Ruidoso, NM, Psychology/Religion; Meredith Craig of Lubbock, Mass Communications; Martha DeLaCruz of Olton, Criminal Justice; Jennette Duran of El Paso, Criminal Justice; Justin Eason of Vernon, Religion; Kenneth Gardner of Vigo Park, Religion; Laticia Gonzales of Hale Center, Criminal Justice; Jennifer Hernandez of Floydada, Psychology; April Langehennig of Brownfield, Theatre; Cory Norman of Edmond, Okla., Theatre; Curtis Palmer of Phoenix, Ariz., Music; Steven Quezada, Jr. of Tolleson, Ariz., Criminal Justice; Rebekah Shepard of Wiggins, Colo., History; Sonny Smart of Chillicothe, Religion; Marle Stahl of Roswell, NM, Psychology/Criminal Justice; Brian Street of Andrews, History/English; Patrick Whitfill of Plainview, English; and Cheri Williams of Colorado Springs, Art.

Bachelor of Business Administration: Matilda Banda of Lockney, Business Administration; Kamber Curry of Plainview, Management/Marketing; Andrea Gary of Plainview, Management/Marketing/Management Information Systems; Robert Horton of Lubbock, Management/Marketing; Will Husky of Lubbock, Management/Marketing; Jason Kinney of Lubbock, Management/Marketing; Kurt Klug of Sherman, Management/Marketing; Carlos Lopez of El Paso, Management Information Systems; Lindsay Mason of Amarillo, Accounting; Gabriel McGavock of Plainview, Management Information Systems; Tammi O'Brien of Lander, Wyo., Accounting; Anthony Persaud of Georgetown, Guyana, Management Information Systems; Joyce Pope of Kress, Accounting; Sandy Ramirez of Plainview, Accounting; and Patricia Ybarra of Pampa, Management/Marketing.

Bachelor of Music: Toby Hamilton of Los Lunas, NM, Church Music; Jeremy Higginbotham of Ore City, Instrumental Education; Mary Loudat of Albuquerque, NM, Vocal Education; and Jason Mayfield of Wichita Falls, Vocal Education.

Bachelor of Science: James Berry of Liberal, Kan., Mathematics; Levi Blackmon of Seminole, Mathematics; Ryan Boyd of Edgewood, NM, Chemistry/Mathematics; Darci Cozart of Lamesa, Biology; Denise DeLeon of Plainview, Psychology; John Espinosa of Denton, Mathematics; Amy Foote of Whiteface, Physical Education; Erica Hogue of Waco, Biology; Hillary Matteson of Childress, Biology; Pam McClement of Lubbock, Mathematics; Meredith Miller of Plainview, Physical Education; Jessica Mohon of Milnesand, NM, Biology; Angela Poff of Dumas, Psychology; Noelia Quezada of Petersburg, Biology; Emily Stewart of Belen, NM, Biology/Chemistry; Rasa Sukeviciute of Kaunas, Lithuania, Biology; Gerald Sutton of Lubbock, Physical Education; Diana Trischitti of Plainview, Chemistry; and Steven Wiseman of Tahoka, Composite Science.

Bachelor of Science in Interdisciplinary Studies: Early Childhood: Hillary Coombes of Burkburnett; Michelle Daily of Plainview; Shanna Daniels of Pampa; Stacy Griffin of Midland; Heather Gruhlkey of Hale Center; Katie Gunter of Olton; Erin Jones of Matador; Marcy Kurklin of Petersburg; Sarah Mills of Childress; Kristen Oswald of Hobbs, NM; April Parish of Springlake; Christina White of Dalhart; Reading: Mackenzie Crump of Hobbs, NM; Kimberly Keith of Plainview; Michelle Wiseman of Snyder; Mathematics: Krystal Horn of Rogers, Ark.; Amy Pinson of Plainview; English: Courtney Williams of Abilene.

Bachelor of Science in Occupational Education: Occupational Education: Jodi Barnes of Lockney; Kelli Hinsley of Floydada; Cody Renshaw of Plainview; Barbara Theriac of Plainview; Human Services: Kelly Davis of Wichita Falls; Jamie Harkey of Hale Center; Elizabeth Henry of Plainview; Elvia Montez of Plainview; Debra Rodriguez of Plainview; Religion: Anna Lane of Amarillo; Julianna Reid of Honolulu, Hawaii; Business Administration: Carmen Robbins of Clovis, NM; Roberto Salinas of Plainview; and Diana Trevino of Hale Center.

Associate of Applied Science: Sylvia Orona of Plainview, Human Services; Elvia Montez, Human Services; and Roberto Salinas, Business Administration.