Wayland honors students at annual recognition chapel

Wayland Baptist University honored several of its top students at the annual Recognition Chapel held May 9 in Harral Auditorium.

Corrie Igo, a senior from Whiteface, and Jon Mark Hester, a senior from Brownfield, garnered the Citizenship Awards, one of Wayland's highest honors. The award is given to a graduating senior man and woman who exhibit Christian attitude, acceptable academic performance, diversity of interests, loyalty to American ideals, personal integrity and the exemplification of the Wayland spirit. As a result of the honor, recipients affix their names to a large plaque located in Gates Hall.

Igo and Hester also received Spinning Wheel awards, which honors the ten most outstanding campus leaders in the junior and senior class. Igo was also recognized as a Pioneer Scholar - a recipient of an institutional tuition scholarship based on academics - and for inclusion in Who's Who In American Colleges & Universities. Hester was also a Pioneer Scholar and received the award for the Outstanding Student in Spanish.

The Association of Former Students presented Laci Martinez of Floydada and Kyle Igo of Whiteface with the Outstanding Freshman Awards. Runners-up for the award included John Allison of Whiteface, Jason Flick of Kress, Isaias Sigala-Solorzano of Plainview, Lorrie Hammit of Plainview, Andrea Turner of Plainview and Ashley Wood of Gordon.

The ceremony also features presentations of several special awards. The L.C. Wayland Medical Award was presented to senior Nathan Burgess of Hale Center. Named for the university's founding family, the award is given to an outstanding junior or senior who intends to enter the medical profession and carries a cash award from the Dr. J.H. Wayland family. Burgess was also recognized for Who's Who and as a Pioneer Scholar.

Jodi Henderson, a junior from Lubbock, received the Roy C. McClung Award. Named for the university's president emeritus, the award goes to a junior student who shows interest in some phase of the teaching profession. It carries a scholarship award as well. Henderson was also named a Spinning Wheel.

Krystal Horn, a junior from Petersburg, was awarded the Helen Barnhart Reese Award and scholarship, which is awarded to a junior with career goals in the field of education. Will Husky of Lubbock was awarded the Wall Street Journal Award, which goes to the outstanding junior or senior business administration major, chosen by the business faculty.

The Ted Bell Memorial Art Award, which honors an outstanding art student, was presented to Juli Kirchoff of Hale Center. T.J. Messer, a junior from Amarillo, was named the Senator of the Year, an award which recognizes the member who has contributed the most toward the work of the student Senate.

Damon West, a senior from Littlefield, received the Timothy Award, which recognizes the graduating ministerial student with the highest grade point average who plans to enter the preaching ministry. The Boyd Award, honoring a sophomore of junior ministerial student who shows potential in the preaching ministry, was presented to Luis Najera of Idalou.

Special scholarships presented during the ceremony included The Janis Davis Memorial Scholarship, in memory of the former first lady of the university, which was presented to senior Katie Kuhn of La Junta, Colo. Kuhn is also in Who's Who. April Langehennig, a junior from Brownfield, received the Patsy Davis Scholarship, honoring the current first lady of the university, wife of Chancellor Wallace Davis. The Sanders Math Award, made possible by a scholarship from Wayland math alums Ted, David and Tom Sanders, was presented to Ryan Boyd.

Academic divisions presented awards to individuals for outstanding work in a specific field of study. Those honored include: Sean Ackerman of Springer, NM, Church Music; Michael Beasley of Farmington, NM, Biology (also Who's Who and Pioneer Scholar); Tina Bettis of Plainview, Business Administration; Amy Brookshire of Amarillo, Vocal Music (also Who's Who and Spinning Wheel); Chris Burrow of Tulia, Secondary Education and Physical Education (also Who's Who, Spinning Wheel and Pioneer Scholar); Richard Campbell of Kress, Criminal Justice; Denise DeLeon of Plainview, Psychology; Patricia Dinges of Pampa, Management/Marketing; Brenda Fouts of Plainview, Elementary Education; Aaron Gast of Cotton Center, Earth Science; Daniel Gibson of Tulia, Mathematics (also Spinning Wheel and Pioneer Scholar); Stacy Harlan of Muleshoe, Spanish and Mathematics (also Pioneer Scholar); Kristen Helton of Littlefield, Voice Music Education (also Who's Who); Jacob Henley of Pasadena, Texas, Chemistry; Jeremy Higginbotham of Ore City, Instrumental Music (also Who's Who and Spinning Wheel); Kristin Hoffman, Health Administration (also Pioneer Scholar); and Chad Johnson, Art.

Others honored include: Erin Jones of Matador, Early Childhood Education; Blanda Miller of Tahoka, Religion (also Who's Who); Jennifer Morgan of Plainview, Instrumental Music Education; Cassie Newland of Plainview, Accounting (also recipient of Mary Jones Houston Award); Ginger Noblett of Clovis, NM, Religious Education (also Who's Who); Kirsten Orwig of Albuquerque, NM, Composite Science (also Pioneer Scholar); Curtis Palmer of Phoenix, Ariz., Piano; Jeremy Parish of Springlake, Agri-Business; Charlie Pepiton of Wichita Falls, Theatre (also Who's Who and Pioneer Scholar); Vangelia Perryman of Lubbock, Journalism (also Who's Who); Tami Pitts of Floydada, Human Services; Ryan Richey of Wildwood, Art; Rebekah Shepard of Wiggins, Colo., History; Benjamin Speed of Jal, NM, Management Information Systems; David Ward of Hedley, Organ; Rebekah Wilkins of Brenham, Mass Communications (also Pioneer Scholar); Georgia Williams of Tahoka, English (also Pioneer Scholar); and April Winn of Meadow, Management Information Systems (also Who's Who and Pioneer Scholar).

Other Who's Who honorees included: Marcelina Aguilera of Plainview; Lee Baird of Odessa (also Pioneer Scholar); Matt Baird of Hereford; Tissie Beasley of Farmington, NM (also Pioneer Scholar); Lorraine Chavez of Plainview; Erica Curnutte of Alice; Dawn Hightower of Ruidoso, NM (also Pioneer Scholar); Ryan Kettler of Sidney, Neb.; Gene Lane of Houston; Mary Loudat of Albuquerque, NM; Angie Martindale of Dumas; Jason Mayfield of Wichita Falls; Tammy McMillon of Plainview; Salem Posey of Brownfield (also Pioneer Scholar); Nathan Rush of Clovis, NM (also Pioneer Scholar); Rebecca Sitzes of Bracketville (also Pioneer Scholar); Vernon Stahl of Roswell; Cari Lynn Stridde of Georgetown; Erin West of Plainview (also Pioneer Scholar); Becca Whittle of Gatesville; Robin Wolf of Red Oak.

Also recognized as Pioneer Scholars were Andrea Begay of Palestine; Jason Byrd of Hobbs, NM; Shelly Horton of Hobbs; Rebekah Hutton of Plainview; Amy Mykytiuk of Blanchard, Okla.; Leslie Schwalk of Roswell; and Sheila Wiseman of Friona.

Other Spinning Wheels are Emily Hogue of Lovington, NM; Keith Kilpatrick of Artesia; and Lorilyn Long of Hesperia, Calif.