Wayland graduates 104 in commencement ceremony

Wayland Baptist University conferred degrees on 104 students Saturday, May 19, in a 2 p.m. commencement ceremony in Harral Auditorium. Keynote speaker for the ceremony was Dr. Stacy Conner, pastor of First Baptist Church in Muleshoe, with senior Nathan Burgess of Hale Center bringing the student address.

During the ceremony, Wayland-Plainview president Dr. Paul Armes recognized five students as highest ranking graduates, each completing their college career with a perfect 4.0 grade point average. Those students were Nathan Burgess, Coralyn Igo of Whiteface, Blanda Miller of Tahoka, Damon West of Littlefield and April Winn of Meadow.

Diplomas were awarded to the following:

Master of Business Administration: Doyle Lynn Leathers of Amarillo, management.

Master of Education: Bradley Errol Borden of Amarillo, instructional technology.

Bachelor of Arts: Lee Michael Baird of Odessa, religion, magna cum laude; Matthew Earnest Baird of Hereford, religion, cum laude; Nathan John Barnes of Lubbock, religion, cum laude; Jason B. Byrd of Hobbs, NM, religion, magna cum laude; Normalicia V. Carrasco of Hart, English; Lorraine Chavez of Plainview, theatre; Rebekah M. Cooke of Henderson, religion; Erica Dawn Curnutte of Alice, theatre; Jerry R. Earley of Amarillo, mass communications; Jon Mark Hester of Brownfield, Spanish, summa cum laude; Dawn D. Hightower of Ruidoso, NM, theatre, cum laude; Rebekah Maranatha Hutton of Tahoka, history, magna cum laude; Krystal Nicole Jackson of Plainview, English/Language Arts; Larry Gene Lane Jr. of Houston, religion; Christopher Michael Logan of Borger, religion; Blanda G. Miller of Tahoka, religion and Spanish, summa cum laude; Judy Mixon of Hale Center, psychology, cum laude; Amy Elizabeth Mykytiuk of Bridge Creek, Okla., religion; Jeremiah J. Mykytiuk of Mancos, Colo., religion; Ginger Aleece Noblett of Clovis, NM, religion, cum laude; Charles M. Pepiton of Wichita Falls, theatre, magna cum laude; Darci Marie Porter of La Luz, NM, psychology; Mary Dianne Roper-Byrd of Olton, psychology; Nathan T. Rush of Clovis, NM, religion; Jessica Sanchez of Plainview, composite social science; Leslie Ann Schwalk of Roswell, NM, mass communications and business administration, summa cum laude; Vernon Ormond Christian Stahl III of Roswell, NM, history; David Talley of Plainview, art; Jennifer Elaine Taylor of Bakersfield, Calif., English; O'Neill Edmund Trull of Crosbyton, religion; Damon L. West of Littlefield, religion, summa cum laude; Rebekah L. Wilkins of Brenham, mass communications, magna cum laude; Georgia D'Ann Williams of Tahoka, English, magna cum laude; and Daniel Zuber of Roswell, NM, religion.

Bachelor of Business Administration: Andrea M. Begay of Palestine, management/marketing, cum laude; Kimberly Helms of Midland, management/marketing; Jarrod G. Henley of Littlefield, management information systems; Kristin Hoffman of Odessa, health care administration, magna cum laude; Keith A. Kilpatrick of Artesia, NM, business administration; Talyia Venee Lane of Pampa, management/marketing; Cassie Leah Newland of Plainview, accounting, summa cum laude; Jeremy Trent Parish of Springlake-Earth, agribusiness; Nancy F. Payne of Shallowater, accounting; Velma G. Solorzano of Plainview, management information systems and management/marketing; Donna Taulbee of Plainview, accounting; Randall Z. Williams of Bronx, NY, management/marketing; and April D. Winn of Meadow, management information systems, summa cum laude.

Bachelor of Music: Sean Ryan Ackerman of Springer, NM, church music; Jennifer Christine Morgan of Plainview, music education, summa cum laude; David Lynn Ward of Hedley, church music, summa cum laude; Erin Michelle West of Plainview, music education, magna cum laude.

Bachelor of Science: Michael James Beasley of Farmington, NM, biology, magna cum laude; Patricia Renee Beasley of Farmington, NM, biology, summa cum laude; Nathan Edwin Burgess of Hale Center, biology, summa cum laude; Chris Burrow of Tulia, biology, cum laude; Brent Todd Davis of Plainview, biology; Roxanne Lenell Davis of Hart, biology and physical education; Aaron K. Gast of Cotton Center, chemistry; David Daniel Gibson of Tulia, mathematics, summa cum laude; Stacy Lee Harlan of Muleshoe, mathematics and Spanish, summa cum laude; Brandon Charles Henegar of Plainview, physical education; Jacob Henley of Pasadena, chemistry; Shelly Williams Horton of Hobbs, NM, biology, magna cum laude; Brandon Lee Mason of Olton, biology and psychology; Casey L. Moore of Childress, physical education; Kirsten Deann Orwig of Albuquerque, NM, chemistry and physical science, summa cum laude; Casey Glen Otho of Midland, physical education; Brannon James Petillo of Abernathy, physical education; Salem N. Posey of Brownfield, biology, summa cum laude; Monica Riojas of Plainview, biology; Rebecca E. Sitzes of Bracketville, magna cum laude; Lindy Paige Smith of Plainview, physical education; Timothy S. Smith of Plainview, psychology; Cari Lynn Amanda Stridde of Georgetown, physical education; Christopher Brian Villa of Lockney, criminal justice; Robert George Ward of Edgewood, NM, psychology; Stephanie Karol Watson of Perryton, physical education; Cecily DeShaun Weaver of Sudan, physical education; Dustin J. Williams of Cortez, Colo., psychology; and Sheila Jan Wiseman of Friona, mathematics, magna cum laude.

Bachelor of Science in Interdisciplinary Studies: Sarah Ellen Brewer of Pasadena, mathematics; Julie Joyce Cook of O'Donnell, mathematics; Crystal DeeAnn Greene of Lewisville, early childhood; Kristen Kay Holcomb of Roswell, NM, mathematics; Coralyn Jo Igo of Whiteface, mathematics, summa cum laude; Monica Cantu Lewis of Plainview, reading; Tammy Lynnette McMillon of Plainview, early childhood, cum laude; Leigh Ann Williams Plumlee of Plainview, early childhood; Lisa Ann Sanders of Cotton Center, early childhood, magna cum laude; Christina Renee Slimpin of New Braunfels, mathematics, cum laude; and Leticia Zambrano of Plainview, early childhood.

Bachelor of Science in Occupational Education: Pamela Denise Huffman Adams of Plainview, business administration, with distinction; Timothy Martin Deater of Sherman, occupational education; Jane Richards Jones of Plainview, career and technology education; Diana Maldonado Magana of Plainview, occupational education; Krista Lee Mares of Plainview, occupational education; Brenda L. McField of Clovis, NM, human services, with honors; George Arroyo Mendoza, Jr., of Wichita Falls, occupational education; Eilene Marie Nielsen of Wichita Falls, occupational education, with honors; Tammy D. Rounsavall of New Ulm, business administration; and Latasha Nicole West of Shelby, NC, occupational education.

Associate of Applied Science: Timothy Martin Deater of Sherman, business administration; George Arroyo Mendoza Jr. of Wichita Falls, management information systems; and Eilene Marie Nielsen of Wichita Falls, occupational education.

Associate of Arts: Justin Eric Riesland of Parker, Ariz.