Employees recognized during annual Employee Awards Luncheon

PLAINVIEW – Members of Wayland Baptist University’s faculty and staff were recognized with awards, honors and promotions Thursday during the university’s annual Employee Award Luncheon.

Dr. Ann Stutes, Dean of the School of Creative Arts was among four members of the faculty honored. She received the Contribution to Profession Award. Other faculty members receiving awards included Dr. Samantha Murray, Professor of Management, Scholarship Award; Dr. Justin Lawrence, Associate Dean of Justice and Public Administration, Community Service Award; and Dr. Joshua Mora, professor of Spanish, University Service Award.

Debbe Fikes, Benefits Coordinator in Human Resources, was among four staff members recognized. She received the Excellence Award. Other staff members honored included Holli Wauson, Assistant Director of Admissions-Recruiting, Campus/Student Involvement Award; Pam Kennedy, Administrative Assistant in the School of Creative Arts, Community Service Award; and Mandy Berry, Textbook Manager in the University Bookstore, University Service Award.

Dr. Jeffrey Tillman, Professor of Religion and Director of Graduate Studies at the Wichita Falls campus, was presented with the Piper Professor Award.

Jeffrey Vera, Director of Alumni Relations, presented awards from the Wayland Alumni Association. Those recognized included Dr. Rebekah Crowe, Professor of History, Distinguished Faculty Service Award; Teresa Young, Development Officer, Distinguished Staff Service Award; and Pam Landis of the Wichita Falls campus, Distinguished External Service Award.

Dr. Claude Lusk, Senior Vice President of Operations and Student life, who presided over the awards luncheon, recognized retiring employees — Kathy Burton, Lisa Kerbo, Vickie Maupin, Mike Melcher, Dr. Patricia Ritschel-Trifilo and Dr. Timothy Walsh.

Promotions approved by the Board of Trustees during their January meeting were acknowledged by Dr. Cindy McClenagan, Vice President of Academic Affairs. Dr. Matthew Allen, Biological Sciences, Plainview; Dr. Rebekah Crowe, History, Plainview; and Dr. Joe Rangel, Christian Ministries, Plainview, were promoted from Associate Professor to Professor. Dr. Matthew Dyson, Biology and Chemistry, Plainview; Dr. Ingrid Graves, Education, Lubbock; Dr. Andrew Marquez, Biblical Studies, Arizona; and Dr. Christopher Osuoha, Economics, Plainview, were promoted from Assistant Professor to Associate Professor. Corin Olivas, Biology, Plainview was promoted from Instructor to Assistant Professor.

Lusk presented Kathy Burton, Coordinator of Accounts Receivable, with a 40-year service pin and Dr. Cindy McClenagan, Vice President of Academic Affairs, with a 30-year service pin. Twenty-year service pins were presented to Dr. David Bishop, Vice President of External Campuses, as well as Dr. Elise Adamson, Plainview’ Aileen Nonaka, Hawaii; Amanda Stanton, Plainview; Dr. Ann Stutes, Plainview; and Dr. Cynthia Rios Trevino, Plainview.

Ten employees received 20-year service pins, 12 were awarded 15-year service pins, 16 were recognized with 10-year service pins, and 12 received five-year service pins.

The Employee Awards Luncheon was held in Laney Center and livestreamed so that employees at Wayland’s external campuses across the nation could take part.