Crews, Funderburke Receive Citizenship Award

citizenshp-award-web.jpgPLAINVIEW --- Wayland Baptist University’s student awards were presented a little differently this year as COVID protocol prevented a large chapel gathering to recognize students for their achievements in the classroom. Yet while the awards were announced via video, students Kenzie Crews and Edward Funderburke were still surprised as they were named the Citizenship Award winners for 2021.

Voted on by students and faculty, the Citizenship Award is the highest honor given to a senior man and woman each year. This year’s honorees were surprised with the awards when family and friends, who were in on the secret, talked them into gathering in front of Gates Hall for graduation pictures on a Friday afternoon. As the students were ushered into Gates Hall, they were met by Wayland President Dr. Bobby Hall standing at a podium. Dr. Hall read a special proclamation and presented Funderburke and Crews with their awards.

Crews, from Keller, majored in English education. While at Wayland, she worked in the offices of advancement, student activities and the writing center. She served as a President’s Ambassador and was a member of Student Foundation, the BSM leadership team and Council of Student Organizations. Crews was also the student director of Koinonia in 2020. She will start her teaching career next fall at a high school in the Dallas area.

Funderburke, from Austin, majored in music theatre. While at Wayland, he served on the Student Union Board and was a member of the Wayland Show Choir and International Choir, and was the president of Student Foundation. He served as a student worker in the admissions office and student activities. Funderburke will pursue a master’s degree in education and hopes to teach performing theatre arts.

Crews and Funderburke attached their name plates to a plaque hanging in Gates Hall featuring all 64 men and women who have won the Citizenship Award.

Other awards presented to students were:

School of Behavioral and Social Sciences

History: Devin Davis
Justice Administration: Bryan Pena
Psychology: Ericka Espinosa
Sociology: Casey Dudek
Political Science: Edward Gutierrez
Composite Social Studies: Cameron O’Donnell

School of Business

Business Administration: Alex Martinez
Economics: Abigail Myers
Finance: Santiago Hernandez Riano
Health Care Administration: Brandy mcCrory
Management: Shannon Sepeda
Management Information Systems: Jacob Kraft
Marketing Natalie Terry
Sports Management: Stefano Pesce 

School of Education

Special Education: Stone Graham
Elementary Education: Mary Salyers
Middle Grades Education: Donte Irving
Seconday Education: Jacob Boswell
All-Level Education: Summer Tremulot
Allied Health: Kenlie Baxter
Exercise and Sport Science: Tr’Vanh Fillmore

School of Fine Arts

Media Communications: Darian Torres
3-Dimensional Art: Alex Buitron
2Dimensional Art: Dylana Williams
Graphic Design: Allyson Vinson
Theatre: Edward Funderburke

School of Languages and Literature

Spanish: Kimberly Sanchez
Humanities: Chloe Barham
English: Kenzie Crews

School of Mathematics and Sciences

Biology: Tristan Galbreath
Chemistry: Tierra Lozano
Mathematics: Levi Kasner
Molecular Biology: Kamri Knippa
Environmental Science: Sarah Macha
Computer Science: Daniel Ratliff

School of Music

Instrumental Music Education: Bryson Riley
Instrumental Performance: Colton Langston
Piano Performance: Shiloh Hamilton
Vocal Performance: Erin Pearce
Church Music: Andrew Gutierrez
Musicological Studies: Matthew Flores


School of Christian Studies

Amelia Bishop Women’s Ministerial Award: Emily Franklin
Arthur E. Boyd Award: Michaela Phipps
Timothy Award: Colton Stalsby
Theological Studies: Christian Vaughn
Christian Ministry: Michaela Phipps
Recreation Camp Management: Eliana Vaughn
Co-Vocational Ministry: Jess Bennett

Pioneer Scholars

Jacob Adams; Amanda Alvarado; Eleanor Ashley; Alexander Bonner; Michaela Chamberlain; Kenzie Crews; Kamri Knippa; Colton Langston; Austin Moya; Erin Pearce; Nicholas Ramos; Bryson Riley; Carson Ritter; Colton Stalsby; Brooke Vickers


Centennial Scholars

Kenlie Baxter; Kyle Eifert; Justin Glass; Brittany Hall; Wiley Hawkins; Kellie Kozak; Ryan Loveless; Crosslyn Lusk; Sarah Macha; Marisa Martin; Iris Nevarez; Matthew Ontiveros; Savannah Ramirez Lopez; Kimberly Sanchez-Tovar; Christian Wallace; Marc Wallace; Dylana Williams


Spinning Wheels

Chloe Barham; Lindsey Bolin; Lucy Chavez; Kaylee Edgemon; Emily Franklin; Edward Funderburke; Tristan Galbreath; Sean Galloway; Justin Glass; Allison Kirk