WBU Homecoming

Click here to view the photos from Homecoming 2018

Homecoming 2018 is in the books, and we had a blast reminiscing with old and new friends, connecting with fellow Wayland alumni and hearing what great things our students and graduates have accomplished. From chapel to the final victory bell from the football game and everything in between, it was a memorable weekend with magical moments. 

We're already working on plans for next year's homecoming weekend and how we can make even more amazing for our alumni and guests. The classes of 1969, 1979, 1989, 1999 and 2009 will be honored, but there's always room for more alumni to join the party! We're looking from folks from each of those classes to help us reach out to your classmates and invite them to join you here in Plainview. If you'd be interested, just reach out to Teresa. Stay tuned to this page for developments regarding Homecoming 2019.

Distinguished Alumni Awards:

Nominations are always open for Distinguished Alumni Awards for all campuses in the Wayland system. Click here to access the form to nominate a worthy recipient for future awards.

Distinguished Alumni Award: Distinguished Alumni winners should make a distinctive contribution to their profession, serve in exemplary leadership roles in their community and/or demonstrate a strong loyalty to Wayland through service or giving. This honor is limited to graduates of Wayland, whether undergraduate or at the graduate level.

Distinguished Young Alumni Award:  Distinguished Young Alumni winners should make a distinctive contribution to their profession, serve in exemplary leadership roles in their community and/or demonstrate a strong loyalty to Wayland through service or giving. This honor is limited to persons who are age 35 or under who have earned a degree from Wayland.

Distinguished Benefactor Award: This award honors an individual or couple who have generously given to Wayland through financial support to any programs, projects or special initiatives, either over a long period of time or a short one. This honor is not limited to a graduate of Wayland but preference is given to those who have shown exceptional loyalty to their alma mater.

2018 Distinguished Alumni Award Winners

Carla (BA’02, MEd’13) and Jared Hardy, BM’03
    Jared and Carla Hardy have spent the years since graduation as music educators in both Frenship (Lubbock) and Eagle Mountain-Saginaw schools, where they currently serve as director and assistant director at Chisholm Trail High School. They also serve regularly as clinicians and judges with state choral programs. Mrs. Hardy was named Teacher of the Year at Chisholm Trail in 2018 and Secondary Teacher of the Year in her district. She also was named a National Educator of the Year for Jostens Renaissance.

Randy Kaufman, BSOE’91
    Randy Kaufman is a partner in the Plainview accounting firm of Lewis, Kaufman, Reid, Stukey, Gattis and Company, having joined the firm while earning his degree and becoming a partner in 1997. He became a CPA in 1991 and works in all aspects of individual and business tax planning and preparation. An active community servant, Randy serves on the Wayland Board of Trustees and is active at First Baptist Church as well as serving with Plainview Area United Way, the Kiwanis Club and Gideons International.

Noe Valles, BA’88
     Noe Valles is the pre-litigation managing partner of Glasheen, Valles and Inderman law firm in Lubbock. He taught for two years at Plainview High before attending Texas Tech School of Law. Valles has practiced law since 1994, providing personal injury services in English and Spanish and handling cases throughout Texas and New Mexico. He is licensed to practice in both state courts and the U.S. District Court for the Northern and Eastern Districts in Texas.

2018 Distinguished Young Alumni Award Winner

Jessica Robinson, MA'16
     Jessica Robinson is in her seventh year of teaching at Altus High School, where she also serves as Social Studies department chair and is a Link Crew sponsor and a district technology coach. Her course load includes AP Literature and AP Government and Politics. She also teaches adjunctly at Western Oklahoma State College. Robinson was chosen as the 2018 Altus District Teacher of the Year and was a Top 12 finalist for Oklahoma Teacher of the Year. She is known for her innovative use of technology and social media to engage students in the classroom.

2018 Distinguished Benefactor Alumni Award Winner

Dr. Gary (BS'73) and Mrs. Janice (BA'74) Abercrombie
    Longtime Plainview dentist Dr. Gary Abercrombie and his wife Janice (Hudgens) Abercrombie have been giving back to their alma mater since they earned degrees.
Dr. Abercrombie served for many years on the Board of Trustees, and Janice is active in the Sally Society women’s group. Together, they have financially supported every aspect of the Wayland experience, from athletic programs to the Annual Fund. The Abercrombies have also generously given have to several endowed scholarships that bless students each semester, including a few honoring his parents and grandparents. 

2018 Alumnus of the Year

Chief Greg Stevens, BSOE'04
      Greg Stevens served in the U.S. Air Force as a military police officer and K-9 handler. After his honorable discharge in July 1992, Stevens returned to West Texas and attended the Lubbock Police Academy, graduating in February 1993. His first assignment with the Lubbock Police Department was as an evening patrol officer, then as undercover narcotics detective, field training officer and Academy instructor. In 1998, he reenlisted in the U.S. Navy Reserves and was recalled to active duty after the September 2001 terrorist attacks serving seven months. He returned to LPD as a detective supervisor and eventually worked his way to the assistant chief position. He was named Chief of Police in August 2015. He is in the Rotary Club and on the board of Lubbock Voice of Hope.

Click here for a full list of previous years' winners.

Click here to read more about the 2018 winners systemwide.